Mightier Than These

Every Saturday I pray that God will prepare my heart for worship on Sunday.  Even when there isn’t some earth-shattering thought or verse given to me, God is faithful to focus my heart on Him if I’m sincere about it.  Our house church was challenged this week to meditate on God’s majesty, and come ready to share about it from life and from Scripture.  I find it ironic and a little chilling that God put these verses in my mind over the last couple of days:

Psalm 93:3,4 “The seas have lifted up, O LORD, the seas have lifted up their voice; the seas have lifted up their pounding waves.  Mightier than the thunder of the great waters, mightier than the breakers of the sea – the LORD on high is mighty.”

It’s all over TV and every social networking or news site online – the earthquake and the tsunami.  People are freaked out.  I was too.  We live in New England, where earthquakes and floods are a distinct possibility, even though they don’t happen often.  I pictured myself home alone, running with our emergency bag on my back and a baby in each arm, trying to scramble up a tree before the rushing waters reach us… weeping as our crushed house floats by…  Really, I have no idea what people in Japan are going through, but my imagination fills in a few details and I hurt inside for them.  What if…???  And why…???  And God?

Psalm 46:1-3 “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.

And though it’s not a popular sentiment, that sin introduced death and disaster to our world, my heart always returns to that thought.  If there really is a Majesty on high who is holy, what are we still doing here?  He must also be merciful.  Mightier than fear, water, and what-if.  He could wipe out our whole planet if He wanted to and be totally justified in His actions.  But we are still here. 

I don’t understand the why’s and when’s of things like this.  But pondering the situation from God’s view, not from my own, somehow gives me courage to climb back down from the tree, and just say thank you that our little family and our house are still here, and I still have today to ponder.

Majesty:  Refuge.  Strength.  Ever-present help.  Mightier than these.

2 thoughts on “Mightier Than These

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said”pondering the situation from God’s view”. So often we view our world and everything in it from our view. When we start from God and affirm that He is good and all that He does is good it puts a whole new perspective on life.

Leave a Reply

