For a House and a Home

This morning I woke up in bed.  Pre-dawn.  I did not want to stir or speak.  Like a cat…  Maybe if I lie very very still, no one will know I’m here.  My husband’s gentle Good Morning… twice.  Sighhhh.  I do actually have to get up, don’t I.  He was already downstairs by the time I rolled over.  And sleep started to wrap me up warm and tight again.  THAT DOESN’T COUNT.  Fine!  I shuffled downstairs in my bathrobe to heat up the skillet for flapjacks and turn on the coffee maker.  Grumble mumble.

Hours ago: Somewhere in Japan a woman wakes up on the floor.  Her neck, back, and hips ache from trying to sleep night after night on a semi-hard makeshift mattress.  The constant noise all around her wraps her up tight in longing: for privacy, for her closet, for the view outside her kitchen window, for a warm, quiet breakfast.  This shelter is full of babies, workers, stressed-out, hollow-eyed parents, body odor…

Today I thank God for my house.  It’s warm, private, comfortable, and safe.  And it’s home.  It’s full of our memories, even after barely a year of living here.  We get to live in the midst of them, and enjoy the blessings of God.  A house and a home.  What more do I need?

Please forgive me, Lord, for taking your blessings for granted.  And for my counterpart in Japan who wonders if she will have any semblance of home again, I ask for a sign of hope today.  “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. … He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge.”  Psalm 91:1,4

One thought on “For a House and a Home

  1. I, too, was called up short this week. I was preparing supper and was taking stale, soggy croutons out of a day old salad and setting them aside for the dog. My thoughts wandered to those in Japan who are finding it difficult to get food. I had such guilt. What a waste. I read this morning – “But you, O God, do see trouble and grief; you consider it to take it in hand.” Ps. 10:14a Thanks for sharing your good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

