Wisdom Builds Her Home

One of my reasons for writing this blog is to clearly define in my own mind what my role is as Wife and Mother.  I know myself well as musician, artist, baker, teacher, etc.  But when it comes to these more complex roles, I’m a novice.  So here at The Full Vine I explore my question daily: Who am I called to be in my home?

It would be impossible to really dig in to this in one post.  So I’ll be writing a short series for the next few Mondays called “Wisdom Builds Her Home.” 

Before I begin the series, I thought you might like to meet the other people living here in the House of Crazy.  Jon is my husband.

We’ll have been married for 4 years this June.  He is the love of my life, the answer to many prayers, and my best friend.

Our son is Riley, an 11 month-old explosion of smiles, energy, growling boy noises, mischief, and curiosity.

While he was in the womb, we called him “Long and Strong” and that hasn’t changed since.

We’re expecting another boy, whose name is a juicy secret until early-mid July!

Do you see the raging cuteness?!  How can I not want to discover how to be the helper and holder I’m called to be for them?

Recently I read these verses in my devotions:

Proverbs 14:1 “A wise woman builds her home, but a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands.”

Proverbs 14:26 “He who fears the Lord has a secure fortress, and for his children it will be a refuge.”

So much of Proverbs is written in the masculine.  When a proverb directly addresses women, it makes me perk up and listen!  Verse 26 tells me that my husband’s relationship with the Lord creates a unique protection for our kids.  His security in Christ is a strength that our children will see as they grow up.  Hopefully they’ll be drawn to it with a curiosity that will lead them to put their trust in Jesus for themselves. 

I can help with that.  My role as Helper must include building Jon up in his faith, and praying for him every day.  But what about Verse 1?  How do I act with this kind of wisdom?  The house itself is constructed, painted, furnished.  How do I “build my home”?

Not our house - but how totally romantic would it be to live in a lighthouse?

 

Four building blocks became apparent as I thought this through, and these will be the parts of this series:

Part 1: My Attitude

Part 2: My Hands, My Work

Part 3: My Prayer Life

Part 4: Teacher and Filter

My relationships with God, my husband, and my children create an environment that can either help or hinder the development of [a] good root system for my children.  A secure, loving home is the fertile ground their tender roots need.

Jean Fleming, “A Mother’s Heart”

So where do I even begin?  I always wish I was miles and miles ahead in these things.  But … would I want to miss the lessons God is going to teach me daily on the way?  NO way.  I’ll start by keeping Him in mind and being patient with myself.

I guess you can tell I think home matters a lot.

I pray that this series will help other moms as it helps me.  A life poured out and lived to the full is the only kind worth living.

8 thoughts on “Wisdom Builds Her Home

  1. Awesome Heidi! Home does matter a lot! Psalm 128: 1-4 “Blessed are all who fear the Lord, who walk in His ways. You will eat the fruit of your labor; blessings and prosperity will be yours. Your wife will be a fruitful vine within your house; your sons will be like olive shoots around your table. Thus is the the man blessed who fears the Lord.” Praying you & Jon will both SEEK and TRUST as you find who you are as individuals and as the “one” flesh — as God knits together your family!

    Love ya,
    pops

  2. It’s interesting that you chose Proverbs 14:1. I have been mulling that verse over for almost a month now. Though my children no longer live in our home, as a wise woman I should continue to build my house. The verse says “builds” a home, not “built and was done with it.” I’ve been challenged as to different ways I can creatively continue to build. I praise God that you are off to a wonderful start!

    • Thanks Mom! Good thought. I feel like your house has only gotten bigger (for example, taking a grandchild for the day today so that your sick daughter and her other kids can recover…) You take care of a lot more than 3 daughters now 🙂

  3. I am definitely catching up on the life of Heidi. I didn’t know you were expecting again. And your little boy- your spitting image. He looks like he’s about to open his mouth and start singing- he just needs a keyboard.

      • Well, I don’t play that much around them, I am sorry to say. I would like to play more and hopefully that will happen. Elijah does have a violin that I got him when he was 2 but that was really too young (he had the enthusiasm but not the fine motor skills). I may try again now that he is older- he is interested. It more takes the determination and courage and effort on my part.

Leave a Reply

