Sketchbook I

The plan for today was to post an original song.  But there was a little problem with our recording equipment – me!  Apparently I did 5 takes of one song… and none of them were actually recording sound. 

So I’ve decided to switch areas entirely and do a sketchbook post.  It’s always been one of my favorite things, looking into people’s notebooks and sketchbooks, seeing what catches their eye, and how they express it when they’ve only got a few moments to draw. 

Here’s a few from my favorites…

Andrew Carnegie - wax pencil

I used to work in an antique postage stamp shop.  Sometimes an interesting face would appear on a stamp or first day cover.  I’d grab something to draw with and make a sketch.  The wax pencils were particularly fun.  Hopefully this won’t get me in trouble.

Do you like how I spelled his name “Cargenie” next to his head?

You Understand Me - pen

Scribble sketches are so much fun.  Using only lines, the shape and mass of an object are defined.  This sketch is at the end of a journal entry in which I was expressing how misunderstood and trampled I felt.  Everyone has days like that.  My Faithful Friend is the one with His arm around me in the picture. 

Anatomically perfect?  No.  Emotionally present?  Yep.

Rose-Breasted Grosbeak - pencil

I never gave two hoots (or tweets) about birds when I was younger.  For some reason, their songs, their coloring, and their habits have become more and more interesting as I’ve grown.  This bird, however, will always keep the name I had for it when I was younger: The Rose-Breasted GROSS BEAK!!!

If eyes were made for seeing, then beauty is its own excuse for being.

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

One thought on “Sketchbook I

Leave a Reply

