A Future Hope

Every Saturday I ask God to impress a verse on my heart that will help me get ready for Sunday.  I want to be mentally prepared for worshiping Him, not just flying chaotically into the day, wishing for an extra hour of sleep and a mug of caffeine.

This week was the third week in a row of a very stressful trial.  Sometimes it’s hard in the middle of trouble to remember my reason for joy.  God reminded me today.

I Peter 1:3,4a

All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!  In His great mercy, He has given us new birth into a LIVING hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil, or fade…

My hope is not only heaven – not only a place of complete rest, joy, music, color, happiness, purpose, and love…  My real hope is Jesus.  That He is who He claimed to be.  That He rose from the dead after paying the complete price for my redemption.  That He is.  That my faith and hope are in something real. 

None of this is an act.  Trials are, in fact, a chance for faith to prove itself, for my Hope to reveal Himself to me.  That makes this time beautiful.

Leave a Reply

