Wisdom Builds, Part I: My Attitude

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.  (Proverbs 14:1)

I’m writing this on Saturday.  Today my husband and I did errands during which I focused more on my inability to find the perfect gift than I did on my husband’s nasty cold. 

Forgot that because one car had been picked up from the shop, we had two cars with us and I could have encouraged Jon to go home and rest.  Riley would have been fine hanging out with Mommy.

Got irritated because Jon wasn’t as excited as I was (and I wasn’t all that excited) to be in TJMaxx…and then Target. 

Wandered the aisles looking at shirt after over-priced shirt, ignoring the needs in front of my eyes – hunger, aches, chills, stuffy head… 

Marvelled that a man could not know which one out of a billion blouses his mother would just adore. 

ETC ETC ETC.

Later in the day, Riley’s 3 hour nap produced not a cheerful, perfect little baby boy, but a cranky, runny-nosed, impossible-to-please 11 month-old whose only real need besides Mommy’s arms was a good snack – not the tense words I fed him.

Who am I called to be in my home?  This is the question I’m examining in a short series called “Wisdom Builds Her Home.”  Apparently, I’m called to be wise.

By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures.  (Proverbs 24:3)

So it’s not enough to whip out the ol’ plastic and get something cute from the Home Living section?  Nope. 

I once heard that the woman of the house sets the tone for the home.  That’s an awful lot of responsibility.  Sounds like my attitude is the best place to start, since most of the tensions and troubles of the day stem from my ability (or inability) to handle life gracefully.

I mean, I’m still a young momma.  I’m practically a brand-new wife too, having only had 3 1/2 years to learn that a man doesn’t want to be schlepped around a crowded store when he’s not feeling well.  🙂  How long will it take me to get it through my head?  Life isn’t about me.

But how do I do this practically?  It’s easy to read a verse in the quiet hour before my son wakes up and think Cool!  I can do that!  Bring on the day! 

But truly, if I am who I’m called to be in my home, my husband and children will be exposed to the love of Jesus from the time they wake up in the morning to the moment they fall asleep at night.  That’s going to mean periodically checking my attitude at Jesus’ feet throughout the day, and crying out to Him for help! 

Who is wise and understanding among you?  Let [her] show it by her good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom.  The wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial, and sincere.  (James 3:13,17)

I’m going to post this list on my fridge today:

-humble   -shows in action     -pure (motives/heart)     -peace-loving (not eager to argue)     -considerate of others’ needs     -submissive to Christ and my husband’s leadership               -merciful (when I’d rather be harsh)     -full of good fruit (when I’m sick of trying)                -impartial (fair/consistent)     -sincere (actually attempting to live like this through the power of the Holy Spirit)

If this is what Wisdom looks like in her house, when the rug needs to be vacuumed, there’s a fresh mess in and under the highchair, there’s yet another fresh mess in and around a smelly diaper, the ironing board isn’t even visible underneath the landslide of wrinkly shirts, and the art desk is cold from day after day of non-use, I NEED HELP! 

“…being confident of this: that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 1:6)  Maybe this is where wisdom begins to grow: realizing it is only through Christ that I can become who He’s given me the desire to be. 

I can relax in that.

Leave a Reply

