Wisdom Builds, Part 2: My Hands, My Work

love requires sacrifice                                                                                                                       if i have not love                                                                                                                                  i am nothing                                                                                                                                    and nothing i do will last

Who am I called to be in my home?  This is the question I’m examining in a short series called “Wisdom Builds Her Home.”  As a Christian woman, I’m called to be wise, and to have the attitude of Christ in all I do.  But how does that translate to everyday life? 

Part 2 of this series is called “My Hands, My Work” because a woman can hardly build a home by sitting in a bubble bath all day, reading novels.  If every woman in every home is basically doing the same things daily – washing dishes, cleaning laundry, making meals, etc – how does Wisdom show itself in these things?

Could I use my mother as an example?

I grew up in a great home, for which I will always be thankful.  My parents were loving, faithful, fun, and good teachers.  My mother built her home as she baked, sewed, gardened, made costumes, threw birthday parties, cooked meals, drove us to piano lessons, cleaned up 2 a.m. accidents, felt foreheads, and took temperatures. 

Now that I’m a mom, I keep discovering things she was doing all along that I was too busy playing to notice.

(My father built our home as well, as he read the Bible daily with us, taught us worship songs and how to sing them in harmonies, played and joked with us, and worked hard and without complaint at some very frustrating jobs.  For the purpose of this series, though, the focus is on woman in the home.  Just didn’t want to overlook your work, Dad.  Love you!)

When I look back on my childhood days, I smile.  That’s more than many people can say.  We weren’t a perfect family.  But the infusion of grace in our everyday life made things as peaceful and happy as they were. 

What if my mother had done all those things for our family as mere busy work?  Or with a rotten attitude?  What if she openly resented us for taking so much of her time, especially as we moved into homeschooling days, when she would still be awake at 1 a.m. correcting math papers?  How would we have experienced unconditional love? 

Part 1: My Attitude flows right into Part 2: My Hands, My Work.  I’m commanded all throughout Proverbs to be a hard worker.  The example of the Proverbs 31 Woman is given to me to follow – this creative, shrewd artisan who attacks each day with energy and finds glory and purpose in her work.  I bet she wouldn’t have made it into the Bible if she did all those things with a self-righteous attitude of entitlement.

…which brings us to me.  This series is so convicting, I feel guilty writing it.  Except then I remember that God is pointing these things out to help me grow, and then I don’t feel so bad.  I don’t want to stagnate, and that’s partly why I write this blog. 

2 Peter 1:3

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

I’m learning this lesson: Breakfast will get on the table whether I do it cheerfully or not.  The floor will get swept (occasionally) whether I grumble or hum.  Laundry will get switched over whether I pray for the person who wears the teeny tiny socks, or roll my eyes because I can hear him waking up an hour early.

According to 2 Peter 1:3, “life” is “life” day in and day out; yet it is my knowledge of God that determines how I experience his power in it.  Can I grow as a woman of God this week?  Build my home in wisdom?  Sure, as long as I’m willing to let it come through the presence of Christ in every moment.  Especially the mundane ones.

It is a privilege to bake bread for the wonderful man who works hard to support our family.  It is an honor to scrape poop off the diaper of the boy who will hopefully add his voice to the throng that worships Jesus. 

I really love home life.  But some days I’m just a terrible crank about work.  My hope is that this week, I’ll think of my mother and the flow of her life – toward God.  That I’ll remember to pray in moments when I feel overwhelmed.  That knowing Jesus Christ in my heart will make a difference when it comes to my reactions and the attitude with which I tackle the unending job list that hangs in my kitchen.

His DIVINE POWER has given us everything we need…  Can I really experience something that awesome when my back aches and my feet are throbbing?  Something tells me that’s exactly when I’ll experience it most deeply.

One thought on “Wisdom Builds, Part 2: My Hands, My Work

  1. It seems that 2 Peter 1:3 should be part of Proverbs 31. Maybe it would have been had the writers been alive at the same time. I’m going to put 2 Peter 1:3 in the margin of my Bible at Prov. 31. It really is only by God’s power and strength that a woman can be all that God wants her to be. I can see already that you know that he is the one that enables us. You’re a good momma and wife, Heidi. My heart is so gladden to see you right where God wants you to be.

Leave a Reply

