Getting Something Out Of It

Mark 11:15-17

On reaching Jerusalem, Jesus entered the temple area and began driving out those who were buying and selling there…He would not allow anyone to carry merchandise through the temple courts… “My house will be called a house of prayer for all nations…”

I love the picture of Jesus throwing tables and benches over, standing at the temple gate and blocking the entrance with his body.  You can’t come in here with that!  This place is for PRAYER! 

Again I asked God to focus my heart for Sunday worship by what I read this morning – and it was convicting.  So often I approach Sunday with prayers about “getting something out of it.”  Isn’t that exactly what the merchants were doing – getting something out of it?

Jesus said instead, “My house will be a house of prayer.”  My focus ought to be the Lord.  Isn’t that what prayer is?  Coming into God’s very presence with humility, and speaking with him?  I do “get something out of it” just by having really spent my energy on HIM. 

May he drive out of me every wrong focus and selfish motive, leaving only real communion with the Master.

Leave a Reply

