Invested and Known

Today’s verse caught my attention because of its simplicity:

The man who loves God is known by God.  ~I Corinthians 8:3

“The man who loves God…”  Man or woman.  No hangups there.  The surrounding verses are talking about true knowledge – how the real kind of knowledge ought to lead us to show sacrificial love, not to be proud or selfish because we think we know a lot.

And then I got stuck.  Real knowledge comes by loving God, by admitting that I know nothing.  But what does it mean to be “known by God”?

Doesn’t He know me?  Doesn’t the Bible say that He made me by “knitting me together in my mother’s womb” and that “before a word is on my tongue, You know it completely, O Lord”?  (Psalm 139, my favorite) 

Today I will be pondering this idea as I try to stay focused on the Lord:

God is all-knowing.  He doesn’t need to discover new things about me, because nothing is new to Him.  But if I reject Him by my attitude today, I will not be allowed to have intimate access to His mind and heart, especially for how He feels about me.

…is known by God.”  Rather than God saying “I never knew you” I want to experience His eyes looking my way – God saying to me you are mine.  “God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”  (James 4:6)

I have a lot of acquaintances, but few close friends.  Many people can identify with this.  I need to know that a friend is in it for the long haul – deeply invested and trustworthy with my heart – and then I’m excited to share myself with them.  Maybe God is waiting to see how deeply I’ll invest in Him before He will take me deeper into His heart.

2 thoughts on “Invested and Known

    • Likewise, Kirstie! You are a very special lady 🙂 I do consider you a friend, although we’re far apart and don’t get to talk that often. You are a kindred spirit, as Anne Shirley would say.

Leave a Reply

