Burlap Wall Hanging (Part 1)

It’s Spring.  It rains a lot.  The weather-people try to predict it, but… it’s Spring.  So I have a rainy-day project in my art spot that is always waiting for me – one of those fun things you look forward to working on, but don’t stress over if you never get the chance.

A burlap sack! 

(What’s so exciting about a sack?)

So glad you asked!  First, it smells awesome.  Sniff one sometime!  Second, it’s cheap material.  Bargain bin at JoAnn’s – or a literal sack.  Third, it’s got great visual texture, my FAVORITE.  Fourth, it looks unusual hanging on a wall.  I’m sold.

I have a lot of these sitting around in boxes…

…beautiful dried flowers from Jon or from occasions in the past, like our wedding.  At our apartment, there was a great built-in corner hutch that I filled with dried flowers.  There’s no such thing at Casa Full Vine. 

So the plan is to turn a burlap sack into a free-hanging canvas, stenciled with flower names or sayings, and actually hang the flowers from the burlap.  If it turns out like I envision it, we’ll have a very cool dining room instead of a very bare one.

Here’s my progress so far:

Laid out the two sections of material and chose dried flower arrangements that were in good condition.  Figured about how many I could fit on each section.

Headed to my art spot, where only flash photography works.  Yuck.

Repurposed a leaf bag: stencil!  Gotta love Exacto knives.

Played with color.  🙂

Discovered that hand cut stencils and acrylic paints work beautifully on burlap. 

Went ahead and made another.  And then left my seat in the art space…

…because there was most likely a little boy waking up in his crib, wondering where Mommy was.

That’s it for now!  If Part 2 is slow in coming, thank the weather – if it’s nice out, you know where I’ll be…

Leave a Reply

