Love Is For Real Housewives

In asking God for a verse that would help me focus on Him today, I found a verse that helped me focus on my great need of Him.  Every time I read these words, I’m convicted about my attitude.

I Corinthians 13:2b,4a

If I do not have love, I am nothing.  Love is patient, love is kind.

There’s a long list of other things that “love is” – but I got stuck on the first two.  Today I will focus on how God loves, watching how He deals with me, a woman who deserves neither mercy, nor patience, nor kindness.

We flicked on the Today Show this morning.  Their news of choice was a spotlight on the show “Real Housewives.”  If you’ve ever seen even a clip of it (which is all I can stand to watch – food starts to come up…), you know that patient, kind love is nowhere to be found.  Hair pulling, slapping, swearing, and Botox mingling with fake eyelashes and vats of makeup…  That’s about all you’ll find there.  Love of self.

I am a real housewife.  Today I will cut vegetables, take out the garbage, clean the kitchen, do laundry, give my son a bath, make meals and snacks, work in the yard, run errands, play blocks, read children’s books, and stay in touch with my hubby, who’s off at a training seminar for teaching. 

More than anything, I want love to be the tune sung around here today, the real mark of my life.  Only by watching Love, the Lord himself, can I figure that one out.  Thanks for the reminder, “Real” Housewives!

Leave a Reply

