Homemade Granola

“Delicious.  Crunchy and chewy at the same time.”  –The Husband Review (Thanks, Jon!)

Many thanks to my Aunt Heather for passing on her recipe for granola, and getting us totally hooked. 

This stuff is incredible for breakfast (think milk, yogurt, fruit, coconut, fresh berries, chocolate chips, anything you like added to a sweet and filling base.  Maybe there’s a reason so many kids hate breakfast – they aren’t eating THIS).  Loveable for snack – again, top with anything, or eat it by the handful!  Poifect for dessert, sprinkled over a bowl of ice cream or a tall berry smoothie. 

Whole grains…  Home made…  Salivating…  I’ll stop talking now and give you the recipe.

Homemade Granola

Ingredients

1/2 box of old-fashioned oats (any kind of whole rolled oats)

1/2 box of quick oats

(or for the above, divide a box of whole rolled oats in half, and pulse 1/2 of it in a food processor or blender)

2 TBS cinnamon

1 TBS salt

1 C brown sugar

1 C ground flax (“flaxseed meal,” etc)

1 C ground bran (“wheat bran,” etc – can omit if you need to)

1 C wheat germ

3/4 C melted butter

3/4 C oil

1 C honey

2 TBS vanilla

(NOTE: obviously, this will make a LOT.  Be prepared!  Add anything in that you like – dried fruit, chocolate chips, almonds…  There are some nuts in my photos below.)

Method

Preheat your oven to 350°.  Do not grease the cookie sheets you’ll use.

Mix the dry ingredients in a LARGE bowl or pot.  You can use your hands or anything you like (guess what I use?). 

Melt the butter and combine the other wet ingredients into it. 

Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients and mix well. 

Spread out about two 1-C. measuring cups on a cookie sheet.  I tried this on a baking stone once, and it can be a little messy.  A lot messy.  You may want to use cookie sheets that have a lip all the way around.

This time I made it in glass baking dishes instead of on cookie sheets.  It may have made the granola a little less crunchy and a little more chewy in the end.  Just a note.

Bake the granola at 350° for 10-12 minutes.  Remove it from the oven, stir, and cool it to room temperature.  Meanwhile, put the next batch in the oven.

Result

When all the granola has completely cooled, store it in a large sealed container…or a lot of little ones.  You should have about 20 cups full.

And now I want some.

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/homemade-granola/

8 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. Just wanted to add a note, as I’ve had a couple people ask this question:

    Q: What size box is required for the oats?

    A: Quaker Oats puts out a tall can of both quick cooking and old fashioned oats, and each are around 42 oz, I believe. So half of each of those boxes would work, or the equivalent.

    • Good idea – I realized I used to avoid the old fashioned kind, and this recipe totally changed how I do things. Now I only have whole rolled oats in the house, and just grind up whatever I need. Hope you like the recipe and thanks for reading 🙂

      • I’m sure I’ll enjoy the recipe, I usually buy my granola in the bin area at Sprouts. I’d love to be able to make my own and have been searching for a recipe. I’ll let you know what I think when I try it.

        🙂

  2. Pingback: Heavenly homemade granola…. | A Dash of Domestic

  3. Pingback: Fabulous Fall Granola « A Dash of Domestic

Leave a Reply

