A Spiritual Mind Treatment

During our search for a new church home, Jon and I found one place offering “Spiritual Mind Treatments.”  It turned out our minds were safer placed in Higher hands, and we elected not to visit there again.

The liberating and calming times I had with God this week made me realize what a real “spiritual mind treatment” is and long for others to experience it: submission of one’s mind to the Word of God.  

(random picture depicting something peaceful 🙂 )

Submission.  It’s like a dirty word now!  Yet I never had freedom or peace in my life when I ran away from God and determined that no one would make the rules for me. 

Here’s the scenario:

I’m 33 weeks pregnant.  Labor and delivery (and the PAIN) have been weighing heavily on my mind, and with it, fear like a huge boulder.  This week a friend recommended this website, where I found an article on overcoming fear:

http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2011/05/embracing-the-pain-letting-go-of-fear-in-childbirth.html

The timing could not have been better.  I was just about to open the Bible and read and pray.  Lindsay, the Passionate Homemaker, recommended taking Philippians 4:8, and applying it to the fear that many women experience before and during labor.  I’ve been breaking it down as she suggested, one phrase at a time, and it has made such a HUGE difference to me! 

(second picture depicting something peaceful – ah…..)

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.  Phil. 4:8

Suddenly a sentence springs into life for me!  I wrote down my fears, one after the other, and then began bringing them to God through the filter of that verse.

1. What is true (about God, about this situation, and about me)?

2. How can I handle this situation in a noble way?

That’s what I mean by “submission” – giving over the need to be Wonder Woman and do this on my own.  I can’t.  To live free I must acknowledge that God alone can “treat my mind” because He made it and He knows it. 

Incredible how a such a familiar sing-song-y verse could become my fortress, sharpening my focus on Christ, inviting me to mental freedom and the ability to physically relax.

(yes, we get it – peaceful picture)

If you’re dealing with issues of fear, depression, anger, or other negative emotions, I’d encourage you to first click on the link above (even if you’re not an expectant mother) and read Lindsay’s suggestion about Philippians 4:8.  Second, journal, read, and pray until you experience God’s peace which passes understanding. 

Do not be anxious for anything, but in everything, by prayers and petitions, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God.  And the peace of God, which passes all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.  Phil. 4:6,7

A special shout-out to all the ladies with buns in the oven.  May your birth experience and the days leading up to it be peaceful, joyful, and refreshing.

2 thoughts on “A Spiritual Mind Treatment

  1. A verse I read this morning encourages me: Mark 11:24. This Christ’s very
    words and verse 25 tells the conditions. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

