Mom, Midwife, Movement

Two weeks in a row of rain, clouds, and drizzle…followed by today.  I have to thank God for the incredible difference it makes just to see the sun!

And then there’s a morning like this one, when I get three incredible blessings all put together:

1. Mom time!  I don’t get to hang out with my Mom all that often, so a trip with her to the midwife, the fabric store, and Dunkin’ Donuts is a real treat.

2. Midwives are awesome!  This is my first time going the midwife route and it’s been just what I hoped for.  She helped me feel the baby’s head position, talked with me candidly about what I did and did not want during labor/delivery, and discussed diet and herbs with me.  Made me feel like a million bucks and sent me on my way to get larger.

3. Movement!  Every time the nurse asks me “Fetal movement?” I have been able to answer “yes” – and I know that’s not something to be taken for granted.

So I don’t think it’s the caffeine in my iced coffee (which I forgot to request as DECAF) that’s giving me a buzz today.  It’s a breath of fresh air – blessings blowing in all directions. 

 

And a reminder from God: Next time my day is cloudy, drizzly, cold, boring, achy, exhausting, or annoying, I should pray for someone else to have a great day.  Really pray.  And then trust that God knows what’s best for me, including the timing of sun and sweet mornings.

ps.  I’m also thankful that in about 6 or 7 weeks, I’ll be able to bend over again like the guy in the photo below (imagine: Weeeeeeeeeee!  My knees!  My toes!  My shoelaces!).

6 thoughts on “Mom, Midwife, Movement

  1. With the weather we’re having I too am thankful for the sun but for the
    Son also who controls the weather, whether we are happy or concerned
    about some could-be disappointments. That’s Wesley and his situation.
    I read Solomon’s words in Proverbs 3:7-8 and I wish that for Wes today.

    • I would love to have a homebirth, but it’s actually illegal here. Bummer, huh? Going to the hospital. I did get to be part of someone else’s midwife labor/delivery at the same hospital and it was awesome. Do you think you’d do homebirth again?

  2. It’s not illegal! There is a woman who does it I think her name is Deb Kelly. I thought about it BUT it’s costly & she doesn’t take insurance. If you don’t have insurance & would have to pay the hospital bill it’s more cost effective. Seeing that I have quick labors & an AWESOME midwife I opted to save the $2500 & go the free route. Praying that you get Deb White for the delivery she’s the BEST! When are you due? Soon right??

    • Thank you Jen! Deb’s awesome! I’m due in 4 weeks. Maybe it will be sooner if he continues to try to kick out the side of my stomach. No more peanut butter cookies for YOU, young man!

      I wonder who told me that home births here are illegal?

      Free is good… And at this point, money aside, we’re still more comfortable (mentally) being at the hospital. Maybe we’ll get over it someday… Giving birth here sounds wonderful.

Leave a Reply

