Quick Swaddling Blanket

Babies are wrapped up so tight and warm in the womb, it’s no wonder they’re a little mad when we stretch them out flat in a crib and expect them to sleep on their backs.  Some just refuse.  Some respond well to swaddling, which is why I LOVE this blanket project.

I found the pattern at www.passionatehomemaking.com – a very worthwhile site.  I am not a fast sewer, and this only took me two short Riley-naps to make.  If you’re a mom-to-be or want to make a quick, easy, and cute gift for someone who is, check out the details at Passionate Homemaking!  This is not a tutorial, but the PH site has a great one if you’re interested.

Here’s a few snapshots of the process:

Pinned two pieces of cloth together, outsides facing in.  One was cotton, one was flannel.

Needed to trim the edges to make a nice square.

Sewed the two pieces together, leaving a 6″ hole.  Used the hole to turn the thing right-side-out. 

Ironed the edges in my dungeon ironing spot (which I actually really like – the basement is nice and quiet and cool). 

Tested out a few decorative stitches with a great contrasting thread.

Went to town sewing a cute border around the whole thing.  Easy, right?

I mean, how cute is that?

It was so much fun picking out fabric (with Mom!) that was boyish, babyish, and stylish all at the same time.

It is a very BIG blanket.  Have you ever tried to swaddle a baby (particularly a thrashing, strong one) in one of those inflexible, tiny “swaddling blankets”?  So frustrating!  This blanket is large and luxurious. 

I couldn’t wait to try it out.  But since I happen to have one of those thrashing, strong ones, who is now almost 14 months old, I chose a more willing subject for my experiment:

He seemed pretty happy about it.  Hopefully the baby will be too. 

Happy sewing and baby holding, especially if you’re around here in about 6 weeks!

10 thoughts on “Quick Swaddling Blanket

  1. I love it! I wish I had some sewing skills but it’s an art I never learned. And I don’t have a sewing machine. That is so great that you can make it the size you want- I know exactly what you are talking about with strong thrashing babies. I was just watching a documentary on babies being born and developing in different parts of the world and I noted with interest that in Mongolia they swaddle them *very* tightly and then tie ribbons very tightly also around the bottom half of the swaddle to keep it from coming apart.

    • Well, maybe you’ll end up with a sewing machine at some point. It’s not too late. I’m a VERY late sewing bloomer.

      I think it’s funny hearing about things people do around the world (that work) that people in America would be so freaked out about. 🙂 Like the super tight swaddling…

  2. I agree with Kirstie and I do not know a thing about sewing, but I would like to try it out. What model of sewing machine you have and is it easy to sew with your machine??
    Nice swaddling blanket though 🙂 Your little one will love it..

    • I’ll look up the model tomorrow – just about time to turn in here. Off the top of my head, I think it’s a Janome. It’s VERY easy to use. Lots of stitch choices to experiment with, easy to thread, tons of fun. It’s the only one I’ve ever had of my own and I love it!

      Hope you get the chance to try sewing at some point. Until the last couple of years, I hadn’t done much at all, but for some reason it just stuck this time. It’s been a great hobby that’s actually saved us some money. A great outlet for the ol’ creative juices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

