Under One Roof

How many houses do we drive by daily?  How many unknown stories are playing out in those homes…

I stopped by our old apartment yesterday, where we lived on the 2nd floor.  The 1st floor was occupied by an aging couple – smart, genuine, witty, kind people who married late in life and truly enjoy each other’s company.

The husband was there alone.  Has been there alone for some time, I guess, although we didn’t know.  His wife has to live in a nursing home.  I know this is the story for countless people, but it didn’t hit home until I saw his pain. 

He misses her.

And that could be us.

Thank you, God, that Jon and I live under the same roof.  Our story is still being told in one location, and our children are here with us too.  A marriage is a love story, no matter the circumstances.  But as it says in Psalm 16:6, “the lines have fallen for me in pleasant places.”

3 thoughts on “Under One Roof

  1. I’m thankful for every time we sit down at the same table together!This may
    not be forever but I’m so thankful for it right now!

  2. I’m thankful that I sit with my husband at the dinner table every
    night and I thank Him for it daily!

Leave a Reply

