Whatchya Gonna Do?

The title, of course, comes from COPS: “Bad boys, bad boys, whatchya gonna do?  Whatchya gonna do when they come for you?”  Honestly, am I freak?  I’m sitting here having devotions and this is the song that pops into my head based on what I read.

I Corinthians 4:2,5

Now it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful.  Therefore judge nothing before the appointed time; wait till the Lord comes.  He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of men’s hearts.  At that time each will receive his praise from God.

Awesome and convicting verses.  The “trust” is “the secret things of God,” according to verse 1.  And today the Lord is asking me again:

What are you doing with what you know?  I’ll be there soon and will expose your heart.

Gulp.

Lord, help me to be faithful in reaching out with your love, fearlessly. 

Last night Jon and I discussed Teddy Roosevelt while we drove home from a campfire.  It is a lot of fun being married to a history teacher!  One of Teddy’s famous sayings is

“Do what you can with what you have where you are.”

So from COPS to I Corinthians 4, to Teddy Roosevelt, my thoughts keep coming back to this…  Jesus is coming for me one day.  I have something to do for him in the meantime.  And He is watching.

2 thoughts on “Whatchya Gonna Do?

  1. Good time in your life to ask that question. He will surely use you if you arewilling to give him your talents and you sure have some!

Leave a Reply

