How You Do It

My husband shared this verse with me this morning:

O people, the LORD has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God. –Micah 6:8

This is a very busy weekend around here.  Lots of hard work and fun, family time, cleaning, cooking, giant yard sale, laundry, LIFE.  Micah 6:8 gets a whole new spin for me.

I used to wonder what I could possibly do for God – I’m not a judge or someone who can “do justly” with the law in my hands.  I’m no Florence Nightingale or Merciful Mother Theresa.  But it’s slowly dawning on me. 

Walk humbly with God.

It’s not so much what I do but how I do it.  The right thing without mercy and humility is the wrong thing.  God’s presence – His help – is the only thing that will change me from who I am into the kind of person that verse describes.

Please keep me mindful of You today, Lord.  In the busy-ness let me have a quiet heart.  At the end of the day, You are still my heart’s desire.

2 thoughts on “How You Do It

Leave a Reply

