Grain-Free Granola Bars

This snack is an indispensible staple in my late-pregnancy, low-carb diet.  You may just enjoy it because it’s nice and sweet!  I love its flexibility and how satisfied I feel after eating just a small piece (for breakfast, lunch, OR snack!).

With all those nuts, seeds, and dried fruit pieces, these bars are incredibly healthy.  Anything that makes me feel GOOD about raiding the fridge for a sweet snack ought to be given serious applause. 

The recipe comes from a very cool blog: Joyful Abode.  Visit Emily by clicking this link – you’ll be glad you did – http://www.joyfulabode.com/2010/09/12/grain-free-granola-bars/.  Her recipe is so thorough I figured I would just give you the link today, and post the photos of my version below for another take on a great snack.  I will post a picture-free version as usual under the recipes tab.

Hope you enjoy it too!

Grain-Free Granola Bars

Toasting the coconut gave the bars a deeper, richer taste.  So good…

I chose almonds, walnuts, and peanuts for my version.  Turned out to be good choices!

Here’s the difference between the nuts I processed and the ones kept whole:

Raisins, cranberries, and dried papaya were lurking in my cupboards.  In ya go!  Next time I’d like to add dried apricots.

The best part about these bars is that they’re NO-BAKE!  After adding the sticky ingredients and mixing it all well, the only real work is pressing it into a pan – hard – so that everything sticks together.

MmmMMmmmmm…  Add a few of these on the side:

…or maybe raspberries and blackberries…with some homemade whole milk yogurt…

Are you drooling yet? 

What are you waiting for?  Low-carb can be more delicious than you would believe. 

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/grain-free-granola-bars/

Leave a Reply

