Thanksgiving Thursdays

A few words about why I write “Thanksgiving Thursdays.”

When upon life’s billows
You are tempest tossed
When you are discouraged,
Thinking all is lost
Count your many blessings,
Name them one by one
And it will surprise you
What the Lord has done.

So, amid the conflict,
Whether great or small
Do not be discouraged,
God is over all
Count your many blessings,
Angels will attend
Help and comfort give you
To your journey’s end.

Count your blessings,
Name them one by one
Count your blessings,
See what God has done.
Count your blessings,
Name them one by one
Count your many blessings,
See what God has done.

I’m not a big hymn person, but that one says it well.  “Count your blessings… and SEE.”

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Thursdays

  1. That’s my “go to” hymn when I am discouraged. Counting my blessings makes me look God-ward instead of dwelling on “poor me”.

  2. I am definitely a hymn person and I go around singing hymns to myself often. This one is
    one of my favorites and has lifted me out of the doldrums many times. I’m thankful for a
    God who loves me and takes care of me during the day and night. He supplies my needs
    every day.

Leave a Reply

