Cloud Chasers

When it’s nice and sunny out and a rain cloud appears in the sky, what do people do? 

AHHHHHHH NUTS!  Run for shelter!  It’s sunny over there – head that way!  It’s usually a disappointment when the weather turns bad (unless you forgot to water your garden). 

This morning I read I Corinthians 10:2 in a new way:

God guided all of them by sending a cloud that moved along ahead of them…

If I were one of the Israelites, I have a sinking feeling I would have been one of the grumbly ones.  The really grumbly ones.  Gee, my feet hurt.  Nothing but manna for breakfast again!?!?!  Where’s my latte?  Where’s the cheese omelette from God’s right hand?  Why do we hafta follow a CLOUD?  Doesn’t anyone else see how stupid this looks?

As a Christian, I suppose I am an adopted Israelite of sorts – part of the family of God.  I’m called to follow His lead too, as the Bible is just as applicable today as it was back then.  And it hit me: I’m called – commanded – to follow His lead into times of trouble.  To allow Him the opportunity to reveal Himself through trials and unfair things, health problems, stinky circumstances, sadness and stress – clouds.

For they all drank from the miraculous rock that traveled with them, and that rock was Christ. (verse 4)

There it is!  The reality of hardship is that Christ is there, satisfying us miraculously with himself.  Labor, delivery, recovery, and long long nights have been on my mind a lot lately.  Due date is two weeks away…  Will I allow Christ to be my miraculous rock?  I will try and pray for His help. 

Cloud chasers often see the most spectacular storms, lightning, hail, and other natural phenomena.  In our darkest and hardest times, may we see the spectacular and intimate heart of the One True God and not miss Him for fake shelter.

2 thoughts on “Cloud Chasers

  1. Good reminders, Heidi. Very good. And where on earth was that picture of the rock taken? It looks like Australia or something. Certainly not Rhode Island.

Leave a Reply

