Inspired Shoestrings: Show Your Personality

For those of us who don’t shop at Pier 1 or Crate Barrel with any sort of regularity, here is a series on decorating with imagination.  Shopping at Salvation Army (or better yet, shopping from your own basement) may not be incredibly glamorous – but it’s incredibly satisfying.

Inspired Shoestrings, Part 1: Show Your Personality

It’s so much fun browsing through magazines or blogs and drooling over what so-and-so did to spruce up their glorious abode.  All kinds of ideas are out there.  I’m not even hoping to add anything new to the vast flea market of decorating tips.

My thought is that what you put in your own home should satisfy you – budget and eyes.  You should look at it and sigh “ahhhhhh…” knowing you put your own flavor in that spot. 

It doesn’t matter if anyone else likes it!  Naturally, you want to decorate to please other people’s eyes too.  But in the end, if you like hanging lightbulbs of varying sizes across your living room ceiling or going completely black and white, fine!  It’s your house.  Have fun!

Before we got rid of our antique piano, this is what sat on top:

To some people, this would be boring.  To me, it’s art!  I love pussy willows, old things like the little butter churn, and odd musical intruments like the rain stick.  I figured the orchestration textbook that cost me my eye teeth had to be used for something…  And hanging above it all was one of the first paintings I ever made and really respected myself for. 

If Martha Stewart came over, she’d probably cringe.  That’s HARDLY magazine material, dear.  Exactly.  Neither am I.

The best part about that piano-top fun-spot was that I didn’t have to buy any of it new in order to make the spot beautiful.  Each item was already in our house, and just needed to be put together.

The old piano has been replaced by a pack-and-play, and each item that was on top of the piano has found a new home somewhere in the house – and so it goes.  Imagination gets fed and used constantly because life is always changing.  And I WILL NOT get sucked in to advertising!  I won’t!  I won’t!  🙂

No matter what your fancy, enjoy!  And let your house be yours.

4 thoughts on “Inspired Shoestrings: Show Your Personality

  1. I can’t wait for this series! This post is awesome and so well said that I’m going to have to share it… more people need to think like this. I don’t think I have ever even set foot in a Crate & Barrel store, to be honest. Okay, I take that back. I think I did go in one once when I was about fifteen and still went to malls. Anyway, you are amazing. I love you. Thank you! And by the way, for the record, that spot is (er, was) totally magazine worthy… at least in my book. But then, my favorite magazine is Mary Jane’s Farm, so…. =)

    • You’re so awesome Veronica! Yes my foray into the world of Crate & Barrel came with a big gift certificate. We bought glasses, a cutting board, and a waffle iron. And thus ended the foraying.

Leave a Reply

