Verses to Labor By

Sometimes days, weeks, or even months go by of searching for God, reading the Word, praying, and just sort of doing the thing.  Storing up His promises, staying consistent – sometimes more like going through the motions.  And then something happens to shake up your world and force you to lean on the Lord for your life.  Those times are tough but totally worth the reward of His intimate help.

Today I thought I’d share with you the verses that were special to me before, during, and after Quinn’s delivery. 

Maybe they’ll be helpful to you in some way.  They are still helping me now through sleep deprivation and the slow return through healing to normalcy.  Feel free to add your own “strength” verses by posting a comment.  I’d love to hear which Scriptures are meaningful to you.

I’ll add that the coolest thing about this is how God uses His own words to change my outlook on difficulty: instead of trying to just get by, I can enjoy the beauty of these moments – learning through them and becoming stronger – not taking this for granted.  That this is possible for a selfish, impatient, irritable, sleep-loving woman like me is proof enough that there is a God.

You will keep her in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on You, because she trusts in You.  Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord, is the eternal Rock.  Isaiah 26:3,4

When you pass through the waters, they will not sweep over you, and when you walk through the fire, you will not be burned.  Isaiah 43:2

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore I will not fear.  Psalm 46:1,2

Do not fear, for I am with you.  Do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

This is what the Lord says, He who made you, who formed you in the womb and who will help you: Do not be afraid.  Isaiah 44:2 (I thought of it as “He who made, who formed, will help.”  And He did.)

Kimberly reminded me that I didn’t post any pictures of me holding Quinn.  Oops.  Here’s a few for the curious:

Delivery room?  What delivery room?  I see only a baby.

Pre-dark-baggy-eye-circles.

Ah, home.

Totally worth everything.

7 thoughts on “Verses to Labor By

  1. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me, and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jer. 29:11-13

  2. Ah, beautiful. I love the pictures, especially Quinn’s hat and blanket that are so much cuter than hospital-issued ones! By the way, I can’t remember if I shared this with you, but I watched an absoultely fabulous documentary from Netflix (they have it on streaming) called “Babies.” There’s no dialogue, it just follows the lives of 4 babies in their first year in completely different cultures- African tribe, Mongolian gert dwellers, family in Tokyo, family in San Francisco. Superb. I think you would love it. Oo, I just found the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vupEpNjCuY
    And if your new mom hormones are anything like mine, I’m sure you’ll cry a bit watching it too!

    • Ooh! I can’t wait to watch that (and I’m sure I’ll bawl all over myself)! The hat Quinn’s wearing was made by someone in a ladies auxiliary – too cool! And the swaddling blanket, which is basically fused to his body now, was an idea I loved from http://www.passionatehomemaking.com – check it out if you get the chance. Her patterns are easy to follow, hence why I was able to make it. And it’s a HUGE blanket, warm and cuddly. I love baby stuff. 🙂

  3. Oh! I absolutely loved that documentary! A must see, for sure…

    Now back to what I was going to post before I read the other comments… sometimes when I am finding it hard to endure (whatever “it” might be!) James 1:2-3 comes in handy. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.” There are so many things in life that I find extremely difficult to consider “pure joy,” but it definitely helps when I am reminded that I am being tested and that the result is a growing faith!

    • Awesome verses Veronica! Thank you! I needed to hear that, especially for these early days when lack of sleep tends to make me feel very self-centered and “needy.” “Pure joy” at 3 a.m.? It should be! God, help me to see it that way tonight.

Leave a Reply

