Stream of Thanksciousness

So I wrote that title, went about my day, came back and realized how nauseating it sounds.  Thanksciousness?  Well……….yes.  Stream of consciousness with thankfulness as the theme.  Please bear with me.  Sleep deprived women often think their weird ideas are good.

Here we go – thank you God for ALL the blessings in my life, especially the ones I overlook because I’m too busy and crosseyed to see what you’re doing right in front of me.  Today I’ll count my blessings Stream-of-Thanksciousness-style and just let things come to mind.

Readers, I invite you to do the same.  It’s surprising when you get on a roll how many things there are to be genuinely happy about.

sticky, dimpled fingers

cloth diapers and little bodies healthy enough to fill them with poo

not having needed to shop for clothes for myself for a long time

Kimberly’s giant maternity clothes stash that she let me borrow for 9 months

my garden!

cucumbers coming out my ears (now there’s a cartoon idea…)

dirt, in general, and a hose to wash it off

protection from sneaky coyotes (thank you, God!!!)

mac and cheese – the GOOD kind with half-and-half and cream cheese, etc

whole milk

my health, Jon’s, Riley’s, and little Quinn’s

making it through the first 2 weeks of nursing – wincing, but healing

caffeine here and there

my hard-working husband who was on a ladder today trying to clean old egg off our house

ice cream

summer, warm weather, shorts, tank tops, flip flops, toes, campfires, marshmallows, s’mores, chocolate, sticky lips, the moon

my marriage

a new beginning every day

an extra 2 hours of sleep this morning while Jon watched both boys – THANK YOU!!! (that “thank you” was sung in the opera voice, by the way, sweetie)

family – related and not

Frosted Flakes

a clean kitchen – THANK YOU, Jon!  I do not deserve you

a few quiet minutes to put my feet up and type

the boy who’s sleeping next to me on the couch like a hibernating bear

the freedom to write about anything I want without being censored

friends

toast (excuse me while I go slather a slice with butter…………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….and BACK.

BUTTER

non-elastic waist pants

the freedom to approach God in prayer any time, for any reason

a basket full of kids’ books

a comfortable bed, a roof over my head, a husband who likes to read, tease, and smile

sleep

you!  Thanks for reading my musings and silliness.  I’m having an awful lot of fun!

Have a great day.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Stream of Thanksciousness

  1. Reminds me of the song:
    Count your blessings, name them one by one
    And it will surprise you what the Lord has done!
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

