Leaning

Yesterday I tried to recycle some knotweed as a support structure in the garden.  I had been using it to help cover a raspberry bush (which turned out to be nothing more than a vine motel).

That’s the earlier stage of that project, before I covered it with birdy mesh.  The bush is no good – no fruit, no space in our yard!  So I figured I could use the old supports for pole beans to climb.

However, when I leaned on the first stake to push it into the soft soil in the garden, it snapped like a toothpick under my weight.  We’ll move on without commenting on that point.  🙂

This morning I was thinking about several friends who are going through great sadness, and about the challenges we face daily, even in times of joy.  Without someone or something strong to lean on, life can make us collapse before we know it.  I’m so thankful that each of those friends leans on the Lord. 

2 Corinthians 1:8b,9

We were crushed and completely overwhelmed, and we thought we would never live through it.  In fact, we expected to die.  But as a result, we learned not to rely on ourselves, but on God who can raise the dead.

I have no idea what challenges will confront me today.  But I do know that I myself am too weak a support – my own spirit will fail me at some point today, snapping like an old toothpick.  I’m not Wonder Woman, I’m not the image of perfection that TV tells me to be, I can’t “run on Dunkin'”, money and possessions are not security, and I’ve GOT to know that someone is out there holding me up.

God who can raise the dead, please support me and give me new life today.  Thank you for being totally reliable.  I’m leaning on you.

4 thoughts on “Leaning

  1. Amen, my friend. There’s no way I could make it through this rough country alive without Him. I had a lovely dream you came to spend the night. Brynny adored you.

    • Remember how we were talking about new Mom hormones? You almost made me cry. What a cool dream! I was wishing you were close by and I could bring you a meal. Someday I hope to meet your kids. They are so special.

Leave a Reply

