A Kick-Butt Verse

Everything you do must be done in love.

I Corinthians 16:14

That verse kicked my butt up and down the block this week.  I don’t have to be sleep-deprived to fail in this area.  And I am sleep-deprived.  It steals the last little fuzzy bits of my personality that hide the sharp edges of my tone and impatient glances.  Perhaps I should be thankful that having a newborn baby reveals my sin. 

If marriage is a mirror, babies are Windex.

When I realize how my motivations, thoughts, words, and actions fall short of God’s perfection, I remember that “God is love.” I John 4:8b and is therefore as patient and gracious with me as I ought to be with others (thank you, God).  And if I keep reading that chapter, this is crux of the matter:

God showed how much he loved us by sending his only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him.  This is real love.  It is not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.  Dear friends, since God loved us that much, we surely ought to love each other.  No one has ever seen God.  But if we love each other, God lives in us, and his love has been brought to full expression through us.  I John 4:9-13

Real love = sacrifice = God’s love completed and visible.  If I’m not willing to make sacrifices for those I claim to love, am I a fraud?  I sure don’t want to be.  But doing EVERYTHING in love?  That’s beyond me.

I guess I’d better take my own advice from Thursday and lean on Christ.   Help!  I want to love like You do.

Leave a Reply

