Pregnant Cooking: Smoothies or Sorbet

So here are on Wednesday again!  It’s hot, it’s the middle of the week, I’m tired, and I’m craving sugar as usual.  Plus, I’m recovering from having a baby and would really like to NOT be on my feet for a long time making dinner.  Enter BRINNER!

Pregnant Cooking: Smoothies

For my still-preggo sisters out there, you owe it to yourself to down a smoothie with your feet up.  I felt that at least one post in the Pregnant Cooking series ought to be an actual recipe, and this one is so simple and nutritious, I’d make it in any trimester – for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, or dessert. 

Breakfast for dinner is one of my most favoritest things in the whole world.  I realize “favoritest” isn’t a word, but it’s in my vocabulary for things like smoothies, packed full of fruit, curing sore throats, dinner at the touch of a button, fresh and healthy and… you get the picture.

The best part of it all is that my husband likes to do the blending.  So I’m free to whip up flapjacks or waffles or eggs and bacon, and dinner takes half the time.  Sweet! 

This recipe doubles as a sorbet recipe.  My nieces and nephews request it when they come over.  To make sorbet, just pour the blended smoothie mix into a container, and freeze it until it’s the consistency you like. 

Enjoy!

Ingredients (measurements are approximate – sometimes I use more yogurt and less fruit, for example)

1/2 C. yogurt (homemade plain or vanilla if possible)

1/3 C. sugar

1 lb. fresh frozen fruit (if you pick strawberries or blueberries this summer and have it coming out your ears, freeze some and thaw it for smoothies later)

Method

Layer your ingredients of choice in the following order: 1/2 the yogurt, all sugar, all frozen fruit, remaining yogurt. 

That’s basically the same picture as the first one, but this shot shows the sugar layer better.  Mmmm, sugar.

Blend thorougly, stopping to stir and scrape the sides as needed.  If the fruit refuses to de-chunkify, add water 1-2 TBS at a time.  Do not let it liquefy.

Result

Your smoothie is ready when there are no chunks of fruit left, and it’s a uniform color.  Pop it in the freezer for later if you’re jonesing for sorbet. 

I’m sorry.  There are no gorgeous photos of a full glass of smoothie.  We always start drinking it as soon as it hits the glass.  Usually right off the stirring spoon too.  Sometimes I’ll add it to Riley’s milk at dinner.  Boy was THAT a surprise the first time he sipped it!

The perfect Brinner accompaniment!  Sllllllllllurp.

4 thoughts on “Pregnant Cooking: Smoothies or Sorbet

  1. He is a cutie for sure! I love to do breakfast-lunch-dinner smoothies too. Trader Joe’s sells sliced mangos in the frozen section and I love to use those- they are so sweet that often I don’t even add any sugar or honey to the smoothie. I stock lots of frozen fruit in the freezer for said smoothies. And when I was pregnant, 2% greek yogurt packs more protein than any other yogurt out there so I used that as my yogurt.

Leave a Reply

