Household Heroes: The Spray Bottle

Very often I find myself musing, “I use this thing ALL THE TIME…” about some object in our home.  Things that make life easier, or more fun, or cheaper.  For the next few Mondays, I’ll be spotlighting these household heroes and inviting them to take a bow – before they get back to work!

Household Heroes: The Spray Bottle

Ah, spray bottles and their many uses.  How did I ever live without them?  I say “them” because I use at least three of them regularly.  This is not counting the store-bought bottles of cleaning fluid, etc.  No… homemade heroes.

 

Just how many uses have I found for these so far?

  1. Spraying our daily bread before it goes into the oven.
  2. Misting our house plants.
  3. Spritzing Riley’s cloth diapers with a mix of water, vinegar, and lavender (keeps the flies away… you know…).
  4. Misting a good hairdo (not that I ever linger that long anymore to try).
  5. Mixing up a good aphid killer and spraying our tomato plants out back.
  6. Hydrating seedlings in the basement when they’re too weak to be really watered.
  7. Keeping a palette of acrylic paints from drying out mid-project.
  8. Spraying homemade cleaner on windows and mirrors.
  9. Squirting an errant family member who just NEEDS to be wet???  Must try.

And if you live in any number of my family member’s houses – disciplining a misbehaving cat.

Depending on where you shop, you can pick up a squirt/spray bottle for about $1-$2.  Very little investment for all the work it will do for you. 

And for whatever reason, I just find them fun to use.  Maybe the next time I’m feeling cranky, I should pick up the kitchen one that has nothing in it but water, and squirt something random.  A shoe.  The microwave.  My ear.  It would probably lift my mood.

I’m sure there’s many more uses for these things, but I’m a little cloudy in the head lately, running on little sleep.  So can you help me out?

If you own a spray bottle, what do you use it for?

6 thoughts on “Household Heroes: The Spray Bottle

  1. I make up my own fly spray solution for the horses and spray them. 1/3 apple cider vinegar, 1/3 Pine Sol, and 1/3 water. Cheaper and just as effective – if not more – than the expensive sprays at the tack store.

  2. You mentioned homemade cleaners, but I’ll share my favorite recipe. Fill a spray bottle half way with water, fill it the rest of the way with white vinegar, then add 10-20 drops of your favorite scented essential oil (I currently have been on a citrus kick). I’m guessing this is probably very similar to what you use to spray the diapers with, huh? I love adding the scent because it just gives your home a better smell than just the vinegar. I am always making a new batch because I use it for everything. The oil lasts a long time, so it’s not like I am constantly having to run out and buy more. I buy vinegar at Costco. Anyway, I don’t know what I’d do without my trusty vinegar/water spray bottle, it’s definitely my cleaning buddy and I must keep it readily available! It probably gets used the most for SUPER quick floor cleaning… I run around the house with spray bottle in one hand, mop in the other, making it look presentable if I think someone might be coming over. =P Thanks for the other ideas!

    • That’s fantastic! I do just that for diapers – water with vinegar and lavender essential oil. But DUH… It never dawned on me to use it on other things around the house. Thanks a bunch!

  3. Also, pour boiling water over fresh lemon slices, let solution cool, pour in a spray bottle and it’s great to keep fleas off pets!

Leave a Reply

