Household Heroes: The KitchenAid Stand Mixer

Very often I find myself musing, “I use this thing ALL THE TIME…” about some object in our home.  Things that make life easier, or more fun, or cheaper.  For the next few zXMondays, I’ll be spotlighting these household heroes and inviting them to take a bow – before they get back to work!

Household Heroes, Part 5: The KitchenAid Stand Mixer

For me, this falls in the same category as baking stones and cast iron cookware – investments.  Frugal living is creative, contented, and wise.  Sometimes this means choosing to pay a higher price now for a better-quality item that will far outlast the cheaper product.

I understand that it’s perfectly possible to have an efficient and frugal kitchen without owning a KitchenAid.  I was proud not to own one for a long time.  It’s one of those investments that I put off, thinking, “Nah… I’m doing fine mixing everything by hand.”  But once I gave in and let Jon buy me one as a gift, I realized how much easier cooking became.

Not a perfectly clean looking appliance?  That’s because I use it ALL THE TIME.

When you have small children, the value of something that kneads your bread dough for you shoots through the roof.  Same for something that whisks your egg whites until they form stiff peaks, combines large amounts of sticky ingredients, and does all sorts of other jobs by itself, leaving you free to hold a sick or cranky baby. 

Thank you, Jon, for taking some of the load off my shoulders, and freeing my hands for some very important tasks. 

Easy enough for even me: The knob on the left slides back and forth through mixing speeds, and the knob on the right locks and unlocks the whole top of the machine.  All you have to do is unlock, lift up, click on the attachment you need, lower, and lock.  Mix away!  (Note the rubber ducky on the kitchen floor in the bowl reflection.)

I’m usually a do-everything-myself-the-old-fashioned-way kind of gal.  But giving in here and there to a piece of kitchen equipment that is so helpful actually does feel good.  If you have some of my hangups, don’t be afraid to try one of these things for yourself.  You just might get hooked on the time it gives you for other things.

Anything that gives me more time with my husband and kids is hero indeed.

Next Monday will be the last Household Heroes post.  And the subject may surprise you.

4 thoughts on “Household Heroes: The KitchenAid Stand Mixer

  1. I believe that the standing mixer is handy. I’ve been waiting for 56 years for
    one! Maybe there will be one in heaven!

  2. Aside from kneading bread dough, I’ve always wondered how they are different than hand held beaters (aside from the fact that you have to stand by the bowl and hold them)? I’ve never used a kitchen mixer so I still don’t totally get the excitement, though everyone I know who has one loves it. I just can’t picture how I’d use it that often. Now my food processor on the other hand… use that thing *all* the time.

    • Well, I think for mine I just find it to be more heavy-duty and versatile. My hand beater has already bit the dust – just gave up and died! But the mixer can do it all. It has 3 attachments – a whisk, a dough hook, and a general mixing one. So it can handle all kinds of jobs. It’s also claimed a spot in the kitchen where it’s always accessible. Used to have to go down to the basement and fish out my hand mixer every time I needed it. I think a stand mixer is something you can do without easily, but once you have one, you realize how easy it makes some tasks. I imagine a food processor is the same way. Maybe I’ll end up with one of those eventually. Who knows? Sounds like yours is great!

Leave a Reply

