Tuck This Verse Away

Parents have that one special treat they reserve for when their children are fidgety, tired, cranky, and unruly in public.  The “good behavior inducer.”  The favorite book.  The teddy bear that pacifies.  Cheerios and Juicy Juice boxes.

The military has secret weapons and special plans for when things go wrong.  The government has emergency preparations and communities have evacuation plans.

Teachers have sub plans for days when they’re out sick or called away from the classroom suddenly.

So why am I unprepared mentally when it comes to the unexpected?  Where is my arsenal of Bible verses when I need it?  Well, if I don’t bother to tuck away some powerful weapons now, in times of peace and happiness, I won’t have anything to lean on when times are tough.

This week I’ve been memorizing Psalm 18:2.  It’s on a piece of a birthday card my parents gave me, written in my Dad’s handwriting:

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield and the strength of my salvation.

It’s one of those awesome verses that outlines God’s characteristics one by one.

ROCK

FORTRESS

DELIVERER

STRENGTH

SHIELD

SALVATION

Even keeping one of those in the front of my mind makes such a difference during the day. 

He is my strength.  Okay, the minimal amount of caffeine in my coffee didn’t really help.  God is stronger than the strongest coffee.

He is my shield.  I’m under attack, enduring mental abuse from the Enemy who wants me to bow under his condemnation.  “There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  (Romans 8:1)  His Word is my shield.

He is my fortress when I need to run away from a painful situation, when I just need to be kept safe and hidden.  There may be no escaping circumstances physically – having to go through medical procedures, being required to show up to a crummy job…  But there is a place to hide where the Warrior and Comforter waits.

ETCETERA!

He’s offering the help I need, if I’ll take it.  If you’re looking for a great verse to tuck away now, so that you have one when you need one, memorize Psalm 18:2.  And while you’re at it, Romans 8:1 is a goodie too.

The only reason I won’t have a good stash to hold onto is sheer laziness.

And AGAIN I’m convicted by Galatians 6:9 – Let us not grow weary in doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.

2 thoughts on “Tuck This Verse Away

Leave a Reply

