Seed Stitch Mug Cozy

God’s grace includes coffee.  I think He smiles every time I grab my cup of joe or tea, doing what I can to keep myself lively at His feet.

But boy, do I hate it when halfway through that time, just when I’m getting sleepy again, my magical hot beverage cools off!  Hence, the need for a mug cozy – KEEP THIS GIRL AWAKE!!!

My attempts to find a pattern I liked were fruitless.  I decided to make my own, which would fit any average mug.

I used a blue acrylic yarn and a muddy grey brown wool yarn together, both leftovers from other projects.  That’s the beauty of the mug cozy – you can use up remnants.  It’s free!

It’s also extremely fast and simple to make.  Christmas is coming!  Is there someone in your life who might appreciate a cozy hot drink in the morning?

Seed Stitch Mug Cozy Pattern

K = Knit

P = Purl

Holding both strands of color together, cast on 12 stitches.  This is the cozy’s height.  You may want to hold it up to your favorite mug and see if it’s anywhere close to what you’ll want.  Keep in mind the slight expansion that occurs as you knit the body of your work.

Row 1: K1, P1 all the way across. 

Row 2: P1, K1 all the way across.

All odd rows, repeat Row 1.  All even rows, repeat Row 2.

This is a basic seed stitch in which the first stitch of each row is the same as the last stitch of the row before it.  The result is a checkerboard pattern with a very fun texture.

Continue working in seed stitch until your mug cozy reaches all the way around your favorite mug, from one side of the handle to the other.  

Cast off.

This gives you a long rectangle.

Go ahead and weave in the loose ends. 

To create the pointed ends, making the cozy easier to slip under the handle, I did the following:  Bend back the two corners of one end and stitch them in place so that you can see the flaps on the outside.

Pick an end on which you will add a button.  I chose a wood one. 

Sew it in place.  On the other end of the cozy, tie on a good length of matching or contrasting yarn.  This will tie around the button, keeping the cozy in place and allowing you to adjust the length.

Now grab your Bible or favorite book, and snuggle up!  The days are getting colder, but you’re ready for it.  🙂

10 thoughts on “Seed Stitch Mug Cozy

  1. Beautiful! Alas that my knitting days, which were never very spectacular to begin with, have receded into the past. I’d take it up again but I need to have someone like you at hand to help fix the inevitable mistakes that I get myself into. I love that mug, goo!

  2. I love what you said about the beauty of using remnants. So true! I’m obsessed with smalls and I can’t wait to make this… I crochet, not knit, but I can copy the basic style of the piece. It’s genius. I have made mug cozies (cozy’s?) before, but this is not like anything I have seen with the little button and hook idea. I even know a crochet stitch (I think it’s called apple seed or something like that) which would give it a similar texture. THANK YOU!

    • Please show me pics of what you make! I can’t wait to see. By the way, what’s your Etsy shop called? If you email me the URL I’ll give you a shout-out – I can’t wait to visit your shop!!!

Leave a Reply

