Homemade BBQ Sauce

Finger-lickin’ good.  Lip-smackin’ tasty.  Git’s ya right here (point to your jaw, just in front of your ear when saying this). 

And do you know how I created this homemade BBQ sauce? 

I read the labels of my favorite store-bought sauces and said, “Hm.  I have that.  I have that.  I have that.  What’s stopping me?”  More and more people are switching to homemade because it’s easy and it’s just. plain. GOOD.

This is SO easy to make, super cheap, and free of any kind of preservatives, chemicals, or dyes.  Hope you enjoy it and try it on your favorite foods – plain chicken breasts, crock pot shredded BBQ anything, BBQ pizza…  Use your imagination!

Ingredients

1 small can of tomato paste

1 TBS white vinegar

several big pinches of brown sugar (mmmmm…)

1/2 tsp. garlic salt/powder

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/2-3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

3/4 tsp. dried oregano (or more if you really love it)

water to dilute

Method

Mix all the ingredients together.  This is only a rough guide as to the measurements you might use.  Think about the tastes you enjoy the most, and tweak this thing at will.

Marinate your meat in this mixture for at least a couple hours before grilling.  This is why the ingredients list concludes with “water to dilute.”  You want to be able to smear the sauce all over the meat, and have the meat floating in it too.

Results

A delicious, homemade sauce that will have your family or guests asking you, “What kind of sauce did you use?  It’s so good!”  Feel free to put your own spin on it, name it, and serve.  🙂

For an easy-to-print, picture-free version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/homemade-bbq-sauce/

4 thoughts on “Homemade BBQ Sauce

  1. Yum! The only thing I think it might need is a shot of whisky. I *love* Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. I personally don’t like alcohol much for drinking straight, but cooked up in a sauce, oh man. Coq au vin blanc, for example. The only problem is who feels like going to the trouble of buying a whole bottle of whisky for one tablespoon’s worth? I have a whole bottle of brandy in my pantry from a brandy-butternut squash soup I made last fall. Oh well, I guess it will come in handy if we have a blizzard and the local mountain dog needs a refill for his barrel.

Leave a Reply

