Belly Full of Life

No, this is not another pregnancy post. 

It’s a very LATE post, that’s what it is…  But for good reason.

Today my Sweet Babboo climbed back into bed next to his exhausted-looking and -feeling wife and said, “I have an idea.  Why don’t you go to Lens Crafters and get your glasses fixed, and I’ll watch the boys.  And while you’re out, have the REI membership money that’s left over, and go shopping.  And don’t come back for at least an hour.”

And when I agreed, he read my mind and said, “…and you’re not to do any Mommy stuff while you’re out either.”

This was us on the day we got engaged:

He still makes me feel that way. 

I’ve been mulling over Proverbs 15:15 this week: “For the despondent, every day brings trouble.  For the happy heart, life is a continual feast.

I love how there’s nothing in that verse about circumstances.  It’s all about the choice a person makes: How will you look at life?  How will I approach it? 

What will my attitude be at 5:00 a.m. this week when the alarms (plural) start to go off, I can see the moon shining between the slats of the window shade, and not even the birds are excited about the morning?

A happy heart will say, “I am waking up next to the man of my dreams, and God has given us another day together.”  It will rejoice that our offspring are sleeping just down the hall, and both are healthy. 

On days like today, when my Sweet Babboo encourages me to sleep in and take a morning off, it’s easy to see life as mashed potatoes with gravy, turkey, French bread with little garlic pieces in it, and perfectly salted green beans.  Thank you for my feast, Jon.

On days like the normal kind, when my sweet babies are teething and bonking each other in the face and not napping well, may I choose to eat the delicacies of the Lord in a life blessed with both trial and peace. 

His feast is ongoing and the last course will be the best, forever and ever.

p.s. We’re sitting on a Yankees pillow in that photo.  I must say, when two lovebirds get engaged, they tend to lose their heads.  Go, RED SOX!

4 thoughts on “Belly Full of Life

  1. You always make me smile, Heidi. That’s an awesome husband you have there. And a happy heart makes everything better. The only hard part is when you are deep in despondance- and while you try to maintain a thankful attitude, happiness can seem like something a million miles away. Sometimes I think it is a miracle of change that only the Lord can perform… and He DOES, praise be His name. I speak from very recent experience.

    • Then praise the Lord for bringing you through and for the miracle of His joy. Wish I could give you a hug… And thank you for being open to His miracles, and then for passing them on. Hope all is well.

  2. Very cool! Glad you guys are put together with God Glue! It sure does make relationships stick together in a gooooooooood way! Love you both ;o)

Leave a Reply

