Chocolate Snack Cake

Guess what’s sitting in a pan on our stove?  With only two pieces left? 

CHOCOLATE SNACK CAKE!

By the time I’m done writing this recipe down, all the rest of it will be gone.  We must have mice or something.  Pfff.  I looked for a snacky chocolate cake like this for a while, and thank you Betty Crocker – yours is perfect! 

I love the lack of milk and eggs.  If it’s shopping day tomorrow, you can still make this – and lick the bowl!

Ingredients

1 1/2 C. all purpose flour

1 C. sugar

1/4 C. baking cocoa

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/3 C. vegetable oil

1 tsp. white or cider vinegar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 C. cold water

Ice cream, whipped cream, or any topping you like (I like to sprinkle on chocolate chips and a couple tablespoons of sugar – makes it nice and crunchy)

Method

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Grease the bottom and sides of a 9-inch round pan or an 8-inch square pan with shortening; lightly flour.

If you have a sleepy toddler who needs something to do…

(note the chocolate all the way up his arm)

…lay out all the ingredients ahead…

…and let him dump them in one at a time. 

In a medium bowl, mix the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.  In a small bowl, stir oil, vinegar, and vanilla until well mixed.  Vigorously stir oil mixture and water into flour mixture for about 1 minute or until well blended, utilising the unbridled energy of the toddler’s spasmodic stirring.

Immediately pour into the pan, and top with chocolate chips and sugar.

It won’t look like much, but the chips will sink into the cake and make little surprise pockets of chocolate.

The top will look similar to the picture below if you use 2-3 TBS of sugar.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool for 15 minutes.  Serve warm or cool with ice cream.  Or grab a handful out of the pan later while you’re making dinner.  That’s my favorite method.

Result

A spongy cake, moist and perfectly chocolatey.

A bowl for licking.

And a very happy toddler.

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/chocolate-snack-cake/

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Snack Cake

  1. I have a recipe similar to this one and it’s called Wacky Cake. You make 3 holes in the flour mixture, add the vinegar to one, vanilla to one and oil to another. Then you dump the water over all and mix. The cool thing is it’s all done in the pan. No bowls to wash. Woo hoo! I like the addition of chocolate chips and sugar on the top. I’ve printed this recipe and will make it soon. I’ll tell you how it compares to Wacky Cake : )

  2. Hey Heidi! It’s Kristie (Febo) Smith and I just stumbled upon your blog 🙂 So good to get a peak into what you’re up to and see pictures of your beautiful family! I’m not a blogger, but I’m an avid blog reader and love new recipes, meal ideas, etc. so I’m excited to have a new blog to read from someone I actually know 🙂

    • Hi, Kristie! It’s so good to hear from you! I know what you mean – several blogs have caught my interest over time, but my favorites are those written by my friends. It helps me stay in touch with them and be part of their lives even though they live far away. I used to think blogging was really dumb. Now I have to eat my words. Here I go… num num num num….

  3. awwww, I wouldn’t dream of printing this recipe without the pictures of Riley’s sweet little toddler face, We NEED to get together soon!!!

    • Oh thanks Pam! 🙂 Yeah, I’d love to say “Let’s get together when everything slows down…” But that’s laughable. Especially with holidays coming. Let’s get in touch on FB, shall we?

Leave a Reply

