Opportunity Knocks

It’s like a door, open just a crack.  An opening that could be the beginning of something grand…

Dear brothers and sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy.  For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.  James 1:2-4 NLT

Why is it that just when we find out our finances are tighter than we thought, the exhaust system in our commuter car breaks down?

Why does my pregnant friend and her 3 children get sick when her husband goes away on business?  (Praying for you, dear.)

Why do troubles pile up all at once, sitting on top of us so that we can’t breathe?

My guess is that there wouldn’t be any doors otherwise.  No opportunities for greater joy, as James wrote to the early Church.

These doors lead to endurance, strength of character, deeper faith, and being “mature and complete, not lacking anything,” as the NIV puts it.

I am reminded today to trust the One who opens these doors for me, even if the room beyond appears dark.  He is my Light.

“Let your endurance grow…”

4 thoughts on “Opportunity Knocks

  1. One of my most cherished verses! You know, the ones that end up on little note cards and get posted in your kitchen window above the sink or on the fridge for quick reminders. This verse has been on the front lines for me… battling against fatigue, frustration, pain, etc. I like the way you’ve depicted it here, like a door opened just a crack. Wonderful insight, my friend!

  2. Beautiful image. And especially powerful with dramatic music from Skyrim playing in the background (video game) while I read it. It’s hard coming to a place of acceptance, though, that it takes a key of suffering to unlock the door. A lesson that saints innumerable have learned before us. We walk in their footsteps.

    • I can always feel the smile leave my face when I think about what you said – suffering is the key. I don’t want to suffer. But I want God’s best and I want to grow. I have yet to learn to “count it all joy” but I think God’s working on that in my heart.

Leave a Reply

