Put Your Complaints Here

I’m a complainer.  I admit it.

Some people seem to sail through life’s annoyances without blinking an eye.  I tend to blink, bleat, and bellow, but this only makes matters worse.  The more I complain, the worse each problem seems, until it’s all I can think about.

Sound familiar?

I invite you to memorize these verses with me:

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, a child of God without fault.  Philippians 2:14, 15a

I cry out to the Lord; I plead for the Lord’s mercy.  I pour out my complaints before him and tell him all my troubles.  Psalm 142:1, 2

There is a place for complaints – at Jesus’ feet.  Pouring out, weeping over, words tumbling out…  Begging and pleading for His mercy in my weakness.  There is a big difference between that and complaining to my husband that it’s too cold.  To my kids that they’re too loud.  To myself that I’m too forgetful or sore or tired.

Is it a real problem?  It has a real answer.  I must direct it to the One who cares and invites me to “cast all my cares upon him, for he cares for me.”  (I Peter 5:7 paraphrase)  Otherwise it’s just noise that works the opposite in me of being “blameless and pure.”

Is it the kind of problem I’d tell my toddler to stop whining about?  I’d better swallow and digest my own advice.

Sure am glad – thankful – that God, infinite, powerful, creative, just, righteous, Almighty Father, cares about my petty problems.  He knows they seem like mountains, even

Fatigue Mountain

WhatInTheWorldCanIMakeWithBeansAndRice Hill

My Baby’s Got a High Temp Peak

Mt. I-Don’t-Know-How-To-Encourage-My-Husband-Today

He still moves mountains!  Praise Him.  Thank you for hearing me, Father.

I’m writing this today because we just passed Thanksgiving.  Something about being thankful makes it easier to keep a right focus.  May God work in me a willing heart!

Have a wonderful weekend.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Put Your Complaints Here

    • Oh I hear ya. That’s the worst, when the moment you wake up, it’s already in your head. I’ve been keeping a verse or two written down on my nightstand, so that the first thing I do is sit up and read them. It helps. Hope the rest of your day was awesome. Thanks for reading The Full Vine. I appreciated your comment!

  1. I’m so thankful for Thanksgiving and especially my family and being privileged to hold
    a sleeping baby named Quinn.+

    • That was so special. I’m glad it worked out. You have a great way with kids and babies seem to love you. I love getting to see you and Poppa, and Uncle Jim and Aunt Heather too. Since we aren’t together every Sunday anymore, it makes the times when we do see each other extra special to me.

Leave a Reply

