Compassion Has a Face

Dear Merriam-Webster Dictionary,

What is compassion?

n. sympathetic consciousness of others’ distress together with a desire to alleviate it

Why, thank you.  I shall now push up my glasses and go about my day.  That was indeed inspiring.

pfffffff.

Dear God,

What is compassion?

The Lord is compassionate and merciful, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. 

He will not constantly accuse us, nor remain angry forever.  He does not punish us for our sins; he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve. 

For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.

He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.

The Lord is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him.  For he knows how weak we are; he remembers we are only dust.

Psalm 103:8-14

He remembers our frame

Now THAT is a good definition.  Want to see compassion in real life?  This is how God treats us: compassionate, merciful, patient, filled with love, punishing sparsely for our good, not harsh, unfailing, loving, removing our sin, like a father, tender, 

HE KNOWS

He remembers how weak we are.

I feel like I’m getting a great big hug from a man I’ve never met.  Someday I’ll meet Him and I don’t know what I’ll do – fall down in worship?  Whoop out loud in joy?  Dance around? 

What do you do when you’re face-to-face with Someone so awesome – born in humility, grown into a man, crucified in agony, risen and holy, eternal – Someone who cares about how many hairs are on your head and what makes you cry…?

Maybe I will just climb in His lap like Riley climbs into mine…  Snuggle in close to His chest the way Quinn nestles to mine…  Sometimes there are no words but “I Love You.”

Compassion has a Face that I will see someday.  Something in my spirit sees Him now.  May my face reflect Him today.

4 thoughts on “Compassion Has a Face

  1. Your words are so true .. yes He is The real Father for us, whom accepted His Son … I get so happy when I come across such description of a real father daughter relationship..

Leave a Reply

