A Snowflake Says “I Love You”

This past Sunday, our little family of four spent the day at my parents’ farm.  It was quiet except for the constant chatter of our clan – the three sisters and our families.  Boy, can we chatter.  The weather was perfect for chopping down Christmas trees, eating cookies, and drinking hot chocolate.

Right in the middle of the festivities, my Mother passed out small, white paper-wrapped gifts.  Riley and Quinn each received one.  To my intense delight, she’d crocheted a snowflake ornament for each boy with yarn left over from their baby blankets.

Isn’t that sweet?  They’ll have their baby blankets on their Christmas trees for the rest of their lives!

I cannot claim to crochet.  But I’ll pass along the pattern in case you do.  Please click on this link to read the pattern and visit a beautiful blog:

http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/crochet-snowflake.html

Mom tells me it’s extremely easy (I may ask her to teach me how to crochet using this very pattern).  The one thing to note is that the pattern author lives in England, where “double crochet” is actually our “single crochet” here in the States.  If you live in the U.S., make sure you do single crochet wherever it says double.

Leave it to my awesome Mom to make me all weepy inside. 

A snowflake really can say “I Love You.”  Thanks, Mom!

6 thoughts on “A Snowflake Says “I Love You”

  1. What a sweet, sweet story. Your mother seems like a beautiful person from what you give away about her on this blog! (Also, interesting info about the English stitch. That doesn’t make any sense, if you know how to crochet. But that’s good to know! lol).

  2. Aw, you’re very welcome. It was so much fun to do. I don’t know if boys will be as sentimental as girls as they get older, but hopefully it will be a pleasant reminder of their childhood.

Leave a Reply

