Skein of Wonders

I promise I’ll get off the string of knitting posts eventually.  Get it?  String?!  Don’t want non-knitters getting bored.  Although, if you’ve entertained thoughts of taking up knitting, let these posts inspire you.  It really is easy, fun, and relaxing.

I’ve been knitting for about a year and a half now, and thoroughly enjoying myself.  It’s a skill that’s come in very handy, especially around Christmas time.

This week I’ve been musing about how many projects can come out of one of those $8 jumbo skeins of worsted weight, probably slightly boring, one-color yarns.  I’m now in love with those giant things. 

One navy blue skein has, SO FAR, produced for me:

at least 2 or 3 pairs of kids’ mittens, all with stretchy i-cords

a sweet little girl’s purse, which is not to be shown yet – Christmas gift!

a teapot cozy, looking rumpled and warm (just like me at days’ end)

a scarf cowl – click on this link to see the ins and outs

and most currently,

a very thick, warm pair of infant leg warmers for all those jaunts around the winter backyard.

Poor guy always has freezing ankles.  Not anymore!

I’m finally developing the confidence to just strike out on my own and say, “I think I can make that – see how it’s put together?  It makes sense!”  Still looking at patterns for help, but boy has it been worth the effort and patience to get good.

I just read a verse recently that I loved:

Ecclesiastes 7:8 “Finishing is better than starting.  Patience is better than pride.

I’ll never be good enough at this – I’ll never be THE BEST.  Why even try?  And why isn’t this rotten thing finished yet?  How long can a hat TAKE?!

I’m guilty of those thoughts, and guilty of starting so many projects that I can’t finish any.  I’m learning to be productive through patience, one stitch at a time.  Knitting is a good hobby for a flash-in-the-pan manic create-a-holic with what some people would call ADD.

I call it energy. 

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.”  Ecclesiastes 9:10

Even if it’s vacuuming and doing the dishes, may you enjoy the works of your hands today!  Speaking of which, I have a date with the kitchen sink.  Excuse me.

4 thoughts on “Skein of Wonders

    • Hope all goes well and have fun! Don’t you love that feeling at the end of the day when you can see all the things you got done? Some days NOTHING gets done around here except that we ate and breathed and hung around, but those days are good too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

