The Key to the Garden

I have always been driven by my moods.  This is not a proud statement.  I wish it weren’t true…but it is.

It’s easy to give bad patterns an excuse by calling them “personality quirks.”  But I don’t feel right hiding behind Stubborn Swede or Scatterbrained Artist or Temperamental Musician.

Maybe that’s why I love God’s constancy – His faithfulness.  Always amazing.

Be joyful always.  Pray continually.  Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  I Thessalonians 5:16,17

(By the way, if you’re new to the Bible, the “I Thessalonians” means that the quote comes from the first letter written to the Christians in Thessalonica.  Like writing “1 Bostonians” or something like that.)

I’ve been repeating these verses to myself this week, reading them off a little index card.

They’ve been an outstanding reminder of what God wants for me: constant communion with Him.  I began to see these commands as LOVE rather than words hanging off the end of a stiffly pointing finger (DO THIS DO THAT DO THIS DO THAT).

I suppose that’s how life was back in the Garden of Eden, before sin separated us from Him.  Adam and Eve walked physically with God, enjoying his company.  I’m guessing joy and thanksgiving were just life.  Maybe the key, then, is “pray continually.”

So, heading into Sunday worship on a busy weekend, this is my goal:  Keep praying throughout the day, talking to God as if we were walking physically together.  Choose to be joyful and thankful, and let my feelings follow.

Isn’t it amazing that God’s will is so simply and clearly outlined in the Bible?  And it’s not about rules!  It’s about having a relationship with Him.  I love Him so much and pray that that love will grow deeper, changing me from the inside out.

Leave a Reply

