Better-Than-Starbucks Scones

I’d already consumed a full pot of tea yesterday when these scones came out of the oven.  Still, a fresh pot of coffee HAD to be brewed to go along with these treasures. 

I’ve never had the reportedly delicious Christmas scones at Starbucks; but after tasting these, I don’t really care if ever do. 

That’s half a scone.  The other half was in my mouth when I took the picture.

Thank you to Kimberly, my awesome sister, who found this recipe at http://www.sustainableeats.com/2009/12/09/better-than-starbucks-pumpkin-scones/ and passed it on to me.

I cannot get away with making pumpkin anything in our house.  But I’ve been told that these do not taste like pumpkin.  I don’t have any pumpkin goods in the pantry, so I used applesauce.  I cannot get away with applesauce much either, and it didn’t make these taste appley.  Sold!

The first ingredient is whole wheat flour.  Chalk?  Cardboard?  Chewing on a shoe?  Not at all!  Without it, these scones would actually be boring and tasteless.  I don’t plan on ever trying it out with white flour. 

I was also concerned that they’d be too “spice-y” for my Sweet Babboo, who is not a spice guy.  The flavor blend in these bad boys is so subtle, you’ve GOT to try it.  Toss in a handful of dried fruit or chocolate chips to make them your own.

Ingredients

2 c. whole wheat flour

5 T. sugar 

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/4 tsp. ginger (I used 1/16-1/8 tsp)

6 T. cold butter

1/2 c. pumpkin puree (I used 1/2 C. applesauce)

3 T. cream (I used half-and-half)

1 egg

 Glaze: 1/2 c. powdered sugar and 1/2 T (or more) milk

 Method

Preheat oven to 425°F.  Put parchment paper on baking sheet.  Combine dry ingredients.  Cut in butter.  Stir in chocolate chips or other additions.  Combine the rest of the ingredients in another bowl.  Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients.  Do not over mix. Put dough onto baking sheet and form into large (but not too flat) circle.  Cut into 6 wedges and separate them.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Cool, glaze, enjoy!

Result

As Riley says, “nummynummynummynummynummynummynummynummy!”

I’m surprised any of these were left to photograph.  Hope you like them too!

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/better-than-starbucks-scones/

5 thoughts on “Better-Than-Starbucks Scones

  1. Sweet – now I HAVE to make these since you and Kimberly have both recommended them. 🙂
    By the way, you’d appreciate this… I read “sustainableeats” as “sustain a bleeats” (I just thought they misspelled bleats)….until I went to their website.

  2. Sold! We do pumpkin and spicy! So these would probably go over pretty well just as the recipe is written. Mmm. I love scones. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: January Centerpiece Challenge! | The Full Vine

Leave a Reply

