Make Your Own Terrific Tortillas

I’m NEVER going back to store-bought tortillas unless I’m incapacitated.  This recipe is so good!!! 

Today I’ll share the basic formula with you; and in coming weeks I’ll post some recipes I’ve made using these tortillas.

I have several requirements for good homemade tortillas – things I insist on, or else I will not make them:

  • Few ingredients, please, and keep it simple.  I’m busy.
  • They must be easy to roll out.
  • Once they’re rolled out, they have to STAY that way.
  • They have to be tough enough to handle without breaking, thin and flexible enough to become large food holders.
  • They have to taste great!
  • They have to last on the shelf at least a little while.

The following recipe has more than met my stuffy list of requirements and passes the Husband and Toddler tests with flying colors!

Note: This recipe is from More-With-Less.  I had another recipe I used to follow which did not contain shortening.  The darn things were so hard to roll out and kept springing back…it was too frustrating.  These are perfect.

Ingredients

(Makes about 8 large tortillas)

Flour = 2 C.

Salt = 1 tsp.

Lard or shortening = 1/4 C.

Lukewarm water = 1/2 C.

Method

Combine the flour and salt in a mixing bowl.  Cut in the shortening with a pastry blender.  When the particles are fine, gradually add the water. 

Toss with a fork to make a stiff dough.  Form it into a ball and knead it thoroughly on a lightly floured board until smooth and flecked with air bubbles.

To make the dough easier to handle, grease the surface, cover it (wrapping it in plastic wrap or popping it in a food storage container works) and refrigerate it for 4-24 hours.  Let the dough return to room temperature before rolling it out.

I plan ahead: What will I have for lunch for the next few days?  Dinner?  If I need these, I whip them up the day before and usually make them in the morning before or right after breakfast.  They’re a breeze to make even for lunch that day!

Divide the dough into 8 balls.  Roll as thin as possible between lightly floured pieces of parchment/waxed paper (or on a lightly floured board – pick your preferred method).  These roll out easily for me with or without flour because of the shortening.

Drop carefully onto a very hot ungreased griddle (I use a cast iron skillet).  Bake until freckled on one side.  Takes only about 20-30 seconds. 

Lift the edge, flip, and bake on the other side.

Result

8 giant, mouth-watering tortillas ready to be filled, topped, cut up…you name it! 

These will freeze well or keep either in the fridge or at room temp.  I usually just stack them on top of each other, although some people separate them with parchment paper.  They reheat well in the oven.

Enjoy!

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/terrific-tortillas/

11 thoughts on “Make Your Own Terrific Tortillas

  1. THANK YOU!!! I didn’t see this recipe in the more with less cookbook! I’ve been using one I found on line….and I looooathe making them – like your old recipe, they were SO hard to roll out. I can’t wait to try these! (do you know what page they’re on?)

    • Page 84. Don’t even have to look it up. 🙂 They’re my “old standby” now. Did your online recipe call for milk instead of fat? Mine did and I think that’s why it wouldn’t stay put.

  2. I’ve never tried making flour tortillas, looks yummy. I used to make corn ones a lot- you use masa which you can buy at almost any supermarket these days. A tortilla press makes them very easy. Yum! But I’ve gotten spoiled living in locales with little tortillaria’s pumping out hundreds of warm yummy tortillas an hour, sold by the kilo for practically pennies.

  3. Pingback: Elegant White Bean Spirals | The Full Vine

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cigars | The Full Vine

  5. Pingback: Sage Sweet Potatoes | The Full Vine

Leave a Reply

