Post Office Angel

If you follow The Full Vine, you’ll know that I have two sons, 21 months and 6 months.  (and he’s started saying “Mama”).  I’m so proud!  But this post is not about his verbal exploits.  It’s about a man I met at the post office.

We’d finished our business and ducked back out into the sunny cold of a January weekday.  Quinn gazed around curiously in his click-in carseat.  Riley perched on the top shelf of the stroller, his King-of-the-Universe seat.  It was warm enough to go for a stroll, so we set off.

It looked something like this, only under several more layers of clothing:

A man, probably in his 70’s, passed us quickly on his way inside and commented, “You’ve got your hands full.” 

Any mother with more than 2 kids, or children born close together like mine, has probably heard that phrase.  I used to bristle all up and down my spine.  What business is it of yours?  Stop being so critical!, I’d criticize inwardly.  Two is not a lot!  15 months ISN’T Irish Twins!  And even if it was, what’s wrong with that?! 

This time, I simply muttered, “Blessedly full.”

On our way back to the car, we passed the same man on his way out of the post office.  He climbed into his car, and suddenly seemed to feel the need to exonerate himself.  Rolling down his window, he leaned over and said,

I hope you didn’t think I was being sarcastic when I said that.  I meant it!  You are blessed.” 

I tried to communicate that I did indeed feel like a blessed woman.  He continued.

“We had 5 just like that…and just in case you don’t feel blessed now, just wait a few years.  You will!” 

I tried again to convince him, grinned, and walked away, thanking him.  For truly, I am blessed. 

So many people wish for children but do not receive them, or it takes them a long time to conceive.  So many women must work outside the home, handing their children over to daycare workers every morning.  But here I am at home, able to be their one and only milk-giver, snack-maker, tickler, teacher, and trucker.  Boys, y’know.

Being One-And-Only-Mama comes with its share of looooong days, headaches, and stress.  Isolation, worry, boredom and frustration.  But I am blessed beyonds words!  For not only do I have these boys in the first place, but I have a wonderful and supportive husband who loves me, and I have the best Friend you can imagine holding me together day in and day out.

Here at home I experience God’s Crucible in private, where He works on my stubbornness, pride, and selfishness where only He can see.  In the company of these boys, I witness new life and learning every moment.  Exploration, adventure, and joy are regular parts of our day.  What could be better than that?

Sometimes I need a reminder.  When I thank God for my blessings, many things come to mind: good health, safety, Jon’s job, our home, our cars, warm clothes, plenty of food, our little church fellowship, Jesus, a great backyard, sunshine, chocolate, sleep…

Today I have to go with the most recent and obvious.  That angel at the post office was right.

Thank you, God, for my Blessings.

3 thoughts on “Post Office Angel

  1. After reading your post, I am once again reminding myself to be thankful for today. The now. The no kids, sleeping in and lazy Saturdays. It’s so easy to yearn for the yesterday or the tomorrow instead of finding contentment in the today. While I hope for a day when I have some lovelies of my own, today’s pretty great.

    oh, and camelbak is replacing the lid to my water bottle for free. pretty thankful for that, as well 🙂

    • Awesome thoughts, Kristie! Agreed – it’s so hard to be content. Isn’t that where the first sin came from? But “with contentment is great gain”… I can’t wait to see you with lovelies some day 🙂 but in the meantime, enjoy that sleep!

Leave a Reply

