Guess Who Went No Poo?

Thaaaaaaat’s right.  I’ve stopped shampooing. 

OH, HOW TOTALLY GROSS!

I hear ya.  But “gross” would be discontinuing shampoo, and not continuing with anything else.  My hair couldn’t do that.  It would, eventually, become its own source of natural oil.  We won’t get into ideas for pyramid schemes involving human hair oil.

The prospect of ditching yet another grocery-store product intrigued me.  I realized that people I know have been doing it without my knowing.  Huh, I thought.  Might as well try

Here’s what I look like as I’m writing this:

me: “Hey, HONEY!  What’s some women’s magazine I can reference?”

my Sweet Babboo: “Women’s Health.”

me: “Hm.  Something more …uh… girly.”

SB: “The National Enquirer.”

me: “No, I mean like…WOMANLY.”

SB: “O.”

me: “Ah.  Good one.”

O (Oprah’s Magazine, just in case you don’t follow it any more than I do) will not be contacting me anytime soon for a modeling gig.  But if I can go out and get celery and chapstick without major embarrassment, I’m happy. 

This was before “no poo.”  No one can tell.  Heh heh.

Week One

Each time I showered I used only a wash and a rinse, made from home products:

  • Wash: 1 TBS baking soda in 1 C. warm water
  • Rinse: 1 TBS apple cider vinegar in 1 C. warm water

That’s it.  I rinsed in between these two steps.  I’m not sure if you’re supposed to, but I’ll look that up.  It hasn’t mattered a bit.

The first thing I noticed was a silkiness – a softness to my hair that’s not usually there.  At first I thought it seemed a little limp.  After the second non-shampooing, however, I thought it felt wonderful. 

Styles just like usual…feels great…shiny…not greasy…super cheap…no chemicals…

Unless something crazy happens, I think I’m sold.  Stay tuned for an update on Hair Land!  This way, you can reap the benefits of my experiment and decide if it’s something you might like to try too. 

For more information about why I don’t desire to dump chemicals on my head any more:

http://www.nourishingtreasures.com/index.php/2012/01/16/the-shocking-truth-about-shampoo-why-i-havent-shampooed-in-seven-years/

18 thoughts on “Guess Who Went No Poo?

  1. Guess what? I have been doing this, too! Ever since that conversation about it came up on your blog… in November, I think. It came up while we were in California and I started this as soon as we got back. My hair is great, no difference what-so-ever. I think it’s important to note that the diluting makes all the difference. I saw something online about a concern with this regimen ruining your hair due to the PH balance of the products (the acid in the vinegar, I guess?). But I think as long as we are doing it the way we are by adding a tablespoon to a cup of water, we should be fine. Also, it’s not like we’re doing it every day, either. I have been using it on Aly’s hair and it amazes me how the apple cider vinegar really does get the tangles out of her long hair. On a side note: The goat’s milk soap has pretty much ENTIRELY cleared up Landon’s scalp, which THRILLS me because we have been battling this problem with him his whole life (he’s seven!). I am forever grateful to The Full Vine for that goat’s milk soap post!

    • I can’t even tell you how psyched I am to hear about Landon and the goat’s milk soap. HOOOOOORRRAAAAAY! And good job trying it out, Momma. I’ll have to take my own advice and use that on our boys when I can. They both get some skin issues during the winter.

      I wonder why people get so worried over “ruining” their hair. What could ruin it more than chemicals? It’s dead stuff, after all, and it will replenish itself if it does indeed get ruined. We can always switch back to the sudsy stuff if we need to, right? 🙂

      Thank you so much for all of your encouragement, Veronica. I appreciate your friendship and your amazing input. Have a wonderful day!!!

  2. Question… So at this phase of my life, I get to enjoy a glorious shower every a.m. Do you think I’ll be fine getting it wet every day but not doing the soda/vinegar? How often do you do the wash/rinse? (You can text me if that’s too personal of a question to answer.) 😉

    • Ha ha….nothing is too personal anymore. I honestly don’t know because I haven’t tried it. I’m following YOUR lead – yours and Kimberly’s. You both motivated me to try it. My guess (and it’s only a guess) is that your hair might be a little more slick than usual if you didn’t use the soda/vinegar but got it wet anyway. I shower every other day usually – if I’m lucky – 3 days at most. Ew gross, right? Thank goodness it’s winter and I can cover my legs. Ah, children… ANYway… That’s how often I use it. The End.

  3. Hollie, I took a shower the other day and wasn’t planning in “doing” my hair, but forgot my shower cap and just went ahead and wet my hair without washing it. My hair was actually awesome that day, haha. I think it’s fine, as long as you don’t have dirty hair when you do that. If you have dirty hair and just wet it without cleaning it, it will most likely smell like a wet dog. Blech! But it worked fine for me that day. I probably do the soda/vinegar rinse about as often as Heidi. On the days I take a shower and don’t want to wet my hair, I usually put on a shower cap, but the shower definitely doesn’t feel as glorious that way, that’s for sure.

  4. okay— just bought a new bottle of shampoo and conditioner, so this might be put on the back burner for a few months, but I’ve been intrigued for a while myself. Did you mix up a big batch of the soda/water and vinegar/water concoction and then just squirt a bit out each time you wash/rinse? Or do you combine it every time you wash?

    • I’ve been mixing it up fresh each time by keeping a measuring cup and scoop in the shower rack. I have baking soda in a container outside the shower already for my face wash, and I just grab the apple cider vinegar and head to the shower when I’m ready. My husband suggested maybe keeping the ACV in an empty shampoo bottle so it’s more handy…smart man. I’m guessing it would work to mix it up ahead in bulk, but haven’t tried it yet. You might want to Google that question and see what other people are doing.

  5. I keep a jar of baking soda, a plastic measuring cup from the $1 store, an empty bottle, and a bottle of ACV in the cupboard right outside my shower. Just before getting in I throw a little bit of baking soda in the measuring cup and fill it up with hot water, then I do the same with the ACV and the empty bottle.

  6. Haha, sounds like we were basically on the same path as it was… you just gotta start keeping ACV in your bathroom, like Jon suggested, and you’re set! =)

  7. Pingback: The “No Poo” Verdict | The Full Vine

  8. Pingback: Until Next Time « The Full Vine

Leave a Reply

