Joy = Strength

The joy of the Lord is your strength.  Nehemiah 8:10b

This is what I’ve been meditating on this week, and will be for the week to come.  We’re going car hunting, leaving our teething children with my in-laws for the morning.  Short post day 🙂

If you’re car hunting, or taking many many many rectal temperatures, or changing many many many poopy diapers, or taking exams, or taking Advil… may the joy of the Lord be your strength.

One way this helped me earlier this week was through music.  When anxious thoughts threatened to swallow me up, my husband suggested I sing worship songs.  All through the dinner preparations, I sang at the top of my voice, drowning out Sesame Street…

…and I’ll tell you – singing in faith brings joy and joy brings new strength.  It doesn’t work to just say “Okay, now I’m full of joy.”  But there is some sort of choice and action involved, I found.

It’s like focusing the lens of a camera.  You know what you’re looking for is there and it just takes a little self-adjustment.

2 thoughts on “Joy = Strength

Leave a Reply

