Irresistible Cheese Sticks

This chilly weather has inspired a new blogging place: in bed, next to the crackling heater, under our bright red comforter (what other color would it be, I ask you?).

Here in comforter-land I’ve been pondering…  What are some healthy but slightly indulgent snacks that I can have on hand for our hungry bellies? 

I get so grabby around 2, 2:30, 3, 3:01pm…  That’s about the same time that my Sweet Babboo comes through the door on an early day, tummy rumbling.

There’s got to be something better for us than cookies – and my wretchedly slow digestion of late agrees with that sentiment.  Something I can just grab and toss down but not “pay for” later.

Enter Cheeeeeeeeeeese Sticks.  Oh so yummy.  Oh so easy.  Oh.  Riley is in love with these.  His first toddler crush.  *sniff*

Before you begin, gather your cheering section…

Hoo.  Ray.

…and your Helping Hands.

Irresistible Cheese Sticks

(Credit for this recipe goes to More With Less, as does credit for many of my recipes.  It’s just GOOD STUFF.  If you don’t have the cookbook, get it!!!  It will quietly revolutionize your eating, working positive changes in your budget and your body.)

Ingredients

1 C. grated sharp cheese (I used what I had: a mix of mexi-cheese and mozzarella)

1/2 tsp salt and a dash of pepper

1 1/4 C. flour

1/3 C. margarine (I’m sure butter is fine)

3 TBS milk

sesame seeds (or topping of your choice)

Method

Preheat the oven to 375.  Combine the cheese, salt, pepper, and flour.  Cut in the margarine with a pastry blender.  Sprinkle the dough with the milk.  Toss with a fork and form it into a ball.

Turn the dough onto a floured surface and roll it 1/8″ thick.  Sprinkle liberally with sesame seeds.  Run the rolling pin over it again.  Prick the dough with a fork all over.  Cut into 1/2″ sticks, 2″ squares and then triangles, etc. 

If there are some oddly shaped edges, you may have to suffer through and eat them now.

Poor you. 

Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 10 minutes, or until golden.

(Note: The process I just described will become second nature if you start making your own crackers.  Make a dough, roll it out.  Top it, roll it.  Prick it, cut it.  Bake and eat.  Oh yeah – cool them, if you have the self control.)

Results

Prepare your tastebuds for a trip to Disneyland.  Cheese sticks are so tangy and tasty… 

Serve them with an apple for a snack, on top of chili, with burgers, in place of bread at a fancy meal (you’ll get some eyebrows up, but what’s not to love about that?) – enjoy!  🙂

For a picture-free, easy-to-print version of this recipe, please click on the following link:

https://thefullvine.wordpress.com/irresistable-cheese-sticks/

7 thoughts on “Irresistible Cheese Sticks

  1. I can’t wait to try these! The kiddos go to a co-op preschool and I’m responsible for bringing in the snack on my co-op days. I think these crackers with that apple you were talking about will be a hit! I’m a little sad that I don’t have any cheese left in the hosue to try these now!

  2. Oh hallelujah yumminess! I see batch 2 in this afternoon’s future considering Elijah is having a friend over today and I am pretty sure that spells their doom (as if I couldn’t polish them off myself). Marc would be very upset if he heard about these and there weren’t any left. I had to add more milk to get the dough to come together and they definitely took longer than 10 minutes to bake, did you find that? I replaced 1/4 c with whole wheat flour and that was good too. And with this cookbook… I have to recommend the honey-baked chicken… we had it for dinner last night with rice and veggies and it got a thumbs up all around.

    • Ooh! Thanks for the new recipe tip. I’ll have to try it! Yes I found that the cheese sticks needed more moisture and more time. I also baked them for company yesterday and did so on pizza stones. They were pretty doughey, but I don’t mind that. Just surprised me…

Leave a Reply

