Even On My Best Days

Tomorrow morning is church.  I really want my mind to be focused on God today in preparation, during diaper changes, blogging, cleaning, playing outside, driving in the car…  What can I meditate on?

Psalm 86:15

(I add this thought before the verse to make it personal: I will be busy, I will get tired, we will run around like crazy, I will feel cranky, the night will be long…) But you, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Even on my best days, well-rested, cheerful, looking out for others, I don’t live up to His character.  His abounding love keeps me looking to Him, absorbed by His grace and patience. 

No shortcomings are too exasperating for His compassionate heart.

No pattern is unchangeable because of His grace.

That patient, strong heart will continue to forgive and forget without anger.

And His love and faithfulness will ever exceed what I can understand. 

What if life was really only about muffins, coffee, careers, and movies?  God gives perspective through one short verse: His character, the pursuit of Him, is what it’s all about.

Leave a comment